Review: Tressmatch Clip-In Hair Extensions Elite Set

Happy Friday! Who’s ready for the weekend?

As promised in my October 2014 Favorites post, I got a review for you on my new Tressmatch clip-in hair extensions.

If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know this isn’t the first time I’ve gotten extensions from this company. I got my first set back in April and I totally loved them. They’ve held up pretty well despite wearing them almost every day and I did a review of how they had held up at the 3 month mark, which you can read here. I still have these extensions, but I decided to get a second set so I switch back and forth between the sets to save on wear and tear.

IMG_0437

How I look with my extensions in. My natural hair is slightly past my shoulders.

For my second set, I decided to go with the Elite, which is 150 grams of hair and 22 inches in length. My previous set is the Artisan, which is 120 grams of hair and also 22 inches in length. So how do the two sets compare?

For me, the Artisan set is quite a bit of hair. I have a lot of hair on my head, but it’s baby fine, so the first time I put in the Artisan set, for the first time in my life, I had more hair than I knew what to do with! The Elite set is even thicker, which I absolutely love. Both this set and the Artisan set give me the length and volume I’d been dreaming of. The Elite set sells on the Tressmatch site for between $109.99 and $119.99, depending on the shade. Those prices already are a great deal as most other extension companies sell similar sets for almost twice this amount. The exact set I got is listed here. And yes the descriptions say 20 inches, but you actually get 22 inches, which is nice as you get a little extra length in case you want to take your extensions to your hair stylist to be cut to better blend in with your natural hair.

The Elite set comes with 10 pieces: one 4 clip weft, three 3 clip wefts, two 2 clip wefts and four 1 clip wefts. The wefts look to be double-wefted (meaning 2 wefts sewn together) and double-drawn (meaning the hair is the same length from top to end). Since the hair is so thick for me, I don’t even use all of the wefts in my hair.

The 4 clip. 3 clip and 2 clip wefts.

Now, I color my hair medium reddish brown and unfortunately, pretty much no hair extension company sells sets in that shade. Since these extensions are 100% human hair, I bought the light brown set (color #8) and dyed them myself. Just like my Artisan set, the Elite set dyed well (just note you’ll need 2 boxes of dye as it’s a lot of hair to color) and once in my hair, they blend in really nice. Every time I’ve worn either set, I always get compliments on my hair and if I decide to admit I’m wearing extensions, I get the same response every time: “Wow, I would never have guessed! They match your hair perfectly!”

IMG_0443

The four 1 clip wefts. I left these in the original light brown as I’m not sure what to do with them yet. I’ll probably get some Manic Panic and dye them funky colors for something fun every now and then.

So how do they style? Well again since they’re human hair, you can curl and flat iron them just like your own hair (just be sure to use heat protector on them). They hold a curl pretty decently (way better than my natural baby fine hair, that’s for sure). I’ve also noticed they don’t frizz up much when it’s humid out either, which is a big plus as my natural hair will go POOF at the slightest hint of humidity.

Since the extensions aren’t part of your own hair, they don’t get the natural oils from your scalp like your normal hair does, so to keep my extensions from drying out, I apply Argan Oil to them once a week to keep them soft and hydrated. I also only wash them once every 2 or 3 months unless there’s too much product buildup on them and then I usually just use conditioner on them (as most conditioners have a gentle cleanser in them already). I also never blow them dry. I’ll wash them in the evening before I go to bed and let them air dry overnight. I’ve also learned that if you comb through them with just a wide tooth comb or a hair pick, they’ll hardly shed at all. Now you have to remember ALL hair extensions are going to shed somewhat no matter what brand they are or how good the sewing work is because this is essentially dead hair you’re attaching to your head. And remember, even your own natural hair sheds. But gently going through them with a wide tooth comb or hair pick will minimize that shedding. If you brush them with a normal hair brush, then you’re going to see more shedding as a result. You have to be very gentle with hair extensions! Take care of them right and they’ll last you at least a year.

But yeah, I love the extensions from Tressmatch a lot. They’ve only been around a few years, but they’re located in the States and have great customer service (Jane there has been very helpful and is awesome). If you place your order before 4:30pm Eastern Time Monday through Friday, they’ll ship the same day. Standard shipping is free and is actually very fast! It only took I think 3 or 4 business days for my extensions to arrive in Florida after being shipped from New York. Another great thing about Tressmatch is they will actually allow you to take the hair out of the packaging to feel and decide if it’s right for you. As long as you don’t cut the gold ties that attach the hair to the cardboard backing, if you change your mind or discover the shade you picked isn’t right, you can return the hair within 30 days for a full refund. If you’re not sure which shade is right for you, you can send them a couple photos of your hair (in natural light, no flash) and they’ll attempt to color match you. Also, if you sign up on their website, they’ll send you a code for $6 off your first order.

So if you’re in the market for some new hair extensions, definitely give Tressmatch a try. And let them know I sent you!

Ok that should do it for today’s post! As always thank you so much for reading! I hope you all have a fabulous weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Tressmatch Clip-In Hair Extensions Elite Set

    • They’re really a great company. They’re kind of “unknown” because there’s really not many reviews of them out there. But the few that are, are all positive. I decided to give them a chance and I’ve been very happy with their products.

      Like

Leave a Comment

