Review: Freeman Feeling Beautiful Charcoal & Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask

Happy Hump Day! I hope your week is going well.

Today I got a review of the Freeman Feeling Beautiful Charcoal & Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask. I picked up a sample/travel size packet (contains 0.5 oz. of product) recently at my local Ulta for $1.99 . A regular full size tube contains 6oz. of product and costs just $3.99.

IMG_0404

This mask is designed to both detox and exfoliate your skin. The charcoal is supposed to absorb oil and other impurities and the black sugar works to scrub away dead skin cells for clarity and softness. A two-punch worker? I figured I’d give it a shot as I’d heard good things about charcoal masks and good things about the Freeman Feeling Beautiful line as well.

When applying the mask, I felt a slight warming sensation on my face. It wasn’t burning or uncomfortable though. It was just… kind of weird and not expected. I’m assuming the effect is caused by the charcoal to open your pores to draw out impurities. After leaving the mask on for 5 to 7 minutes, you then massage the sugar around on your face for 1 to 2 minutes before rinsing with water. It rinsed of easy enough, but some stray grains of sugar got caught around my hairline and around my face in general, which was a bit annoying as I had to pick those off one by one.

After rinsing the mask off, my skin did feel a little softer and smoother. However, my pores looked huge (due to the charcoal in the mask opening them up). That was really disappointing. I used my Queen Helene Mint Julep mask the following day to tighten my pores back up some (which it successfully did).

So overall? This mask was ok but I was not overly impressed with it. I can get 2 or 3 uses out of the packet I bought, but I’m thinking I might end up tossing what’s left.

And there you have it! Have you tried this mask? What did you think of it? Tell me about your experience below in the comments.

As always thank you so much for reading! I’ll see you all again Friday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Review: Freeman Feeling Beautiful Charcoal & Black Sugar Facial Polishing Mask

  1. I’m not really a fan of the Freeman masks. I remember using them in high school because they were cheap and I felt like I was doing something good for my face, but as an adult I don’t feel they do anything for me. I really want to check out the Queen Helene Mint Julep mask you mentioned!

    Like

Leave a Comment

