Is It A Dupe? MAC’s Lipstick in “Twig” vs “B52” by NYX Cosmetics

Happy Hump Day! I hope your week is going well.

I got another “Is It A Dupe?” post for you today. This time I’ll be taking a high end lipstick and comparing it to a more affordable option and determine if it’s really a dupe.

So I admit… I recently bought my very first MAC lipstick. I know, I know. I’m super late to the party. I had originally gone to my local MAC store to see if they had anything left of the Rocky Horror line (I really wanted one of the lipsticks). Sadly everything except the eye shadow palette and lashes was sold out and I was told they would not be getting more in since it’s a limited edition collection. I was super bummed out as it sold out online in like 10-15 minutes (the stores sold out quickly too and this collection was only available in free-standing MAC stores; it was not available at the MAC counters in department stores). Well, I just couldn’t leave empty handed, so I perused the lipstick selection for a long time, trying out at least a dozen different shades before settling on one.

The shade I bought was Twig, which is a really pretty mauve pink-brown with a satin finish. When I was comparing it to my other lipsticks, I noticed the shade seemed similar to my NYX Cosmetics Extra Creamy Round Case lipstick in B52. I decided to swatch them out side by side to really compare them and… they’re practically identical!

Twig by MAC on the left; B52 by NYX on the right

Twig by MAC on the left; B52 by NYX on the right

 

B52 is the exact same mauve pink-brown shade as Twig. They’re both super pigmented and both have a satin finish. The only real difference is B52 is a little glossier than Twig. Outside of that… yeah they’re exactly the same. Considering MAC lipsticks cost $16 and NYX Extra Creamy Round Case lipsticks cost $4 – that’s a pretty big price difference.

Twig by MAC on top; B52 by NYX on the bottom. You can see B52 has a slightly glossier finish.

Twig by MAC on top; B52 by NYX on the bottom. You can see B52 has a slightly glossier finish.

So there you have it! Do you have a favorite inexpensive dupe for a high end lipstick? Tell me about it below in the comments!

I hope you enjoyed today’s post and as always, thank you so much for reading! I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Is It A Dupe? MAC’s Lipstick in “Twig” vs “B52” by NYX Cosmetics

Leave a Comment

