Beauty Products I Regret Buying

Happy Friday everyone!

Today’s post is going to be a little different as I’m going to talk about some beauty products I regret buying. I’m sure you’ve been in the same boat – you buy something you’ve heard a lot about and it either ends up being not for you or a major FAIL of epic proportions. What products didn’t work for me? Read on…

First up is that epic FAIL. It’s something I might catch some flack for, but when you read why it was such a fail for me, you’ll (hopefully) understand. It’s the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion. I got a bottle (yes this is when it came in those fancy looking bottles) as I had heard so much about it and wanted to try it for myself. Well, it did work as promised. It made my eyeshadow last longer and kept it from creasing. But then… something happened. After using it just a few times, my eye lids started to itch and burn. And if that wasn’t enough, the skin on my eye lids got really dry and started flaking! I’m thinking maybe I had a bad reaction to one of the ingredients in the primer. I stopped using it right away, but the itching, burning and dry/flaky lids persisted for a long time. I tried all sorts of moisturizers, eye creams, Vaseline… you name it… but none of them helped. It was so frustrating! Finally, I had an idea. My mom had given me some ointment she got from her dermatologist for my elbow (which was itchy and flaky) and it cleared that up really fast. I figured I had noting to lose, so I put a little on my eye lids. That stuff cleared them up in 2 or 3 days! No more itching, burning or skin flaking off! And my lids have been back to normal ever since. These days I use my NYX HD concealer as an eye primer with no issues. And I know this isn’t something isolated because a friend of mine told me she experienced the exact same thing when she used this eye primer as well.

UD Primer

 

Another product I regret buying is another I might catch some flack for. It’s the Bare Minerals Ready Pressed Powder Foundation. Now if you know me, you know I absolutely love my original Bare Minerals. It’s one of my foundation holy grails. But it can be messy. So when they came out with a pressed powder version of their foundation I was excited. I figured the pressed powder version would create less mess. Boy was I wrong. It created just as much mess/residue as the original loose powder version. Also, the pressed version is really sheer/light, so you have to go up a shade or two to get your match in the loose powder. In the loose powder, I wear Medium or Medium Beige (depending on what time of year it is). In the pressed version, I had to go all the way up to Medium Tan. Also, if you happen to accidentally drop the compact it comes in, the foundation will crumble easy and become even more of a mess. For some reason I kept repurchasing for awhile, but finally threw in the towel and went back to the loose powder version (which I’ve stuck with to this day). On the other hand, I love the pressed Mineral Veil quite a lot (I keep a compact in my purse for touch-ups on the go).

BM Pressed Powder

Next is the Sephora brand lipsticks. Now these lipsticks have some nice colors and pigmentation. But they dry my lips out so bad! Even when topping them with some gloss or wearing a balm underneath, my lips just felt dry and uncomfortable. I was so disappointed because I really liked the shades I had. I tried so hard to make them work, but in the end it just wasn’t worth the hassle for me and I had to toss them. I like a lot of other Sephora brand products (their primer works just as well as the original Smashbox primer and a lot of their shadows are amazing), but sadly the lipsticks just didn’t do it for me.

 

sephora_lipstick_main

 

 

And the final product I regret buying is the L’Oreal True Match Super Blendable Powder. I wanted this to work. I really did. But no matter how I used it, it just looked awful on me. It looked cakey and splotchy and just… weird.

loreal-true-match-powder

 

And there you have it! Do you have any beauty products you regret buying? Tell me about it below in the comments.

As always, thank you so much for reading! I hope you all have a great weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Beauty Products I Regret Buying

Leave a Comment

