Quick Review & Swatch: NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in Cannes

Hi everyone! Hope you had a great weekend! Did you do anything fun or exciting? If you read my post Friday, you’ll know I had plans that evening to attend a Halloween haunt event. I went to Howl-O-Scream at Busch Gardens Tampa with some friends and had a great time! I admit I was only brave enough to do one of the houses, but that one house I did was so much fun as we got to shoot at zombies! We also got to do zombie bumper cars, ride roller coasters in the dark, and of course get scared out of our wits… it was a LOT of fun! Here’s a couple photos from that night:

IMG_0263.JPG

IMG_0236.JPG

If you live in Central Florida and have the chance to attend this event, definitely do it!

Ok onto today’s post! Today is going to be a quick review and swatch showing of the NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in the shade Cannes, which is described on the NYX website as a “matte muted mauve”. It’s definitely a mauve shade and matte, but “muted” doesn’t quite fit this color, at least for me. To me it looks more of a medium, almost slightly bright mauve, if that makes any sense. Regardless, it’s a very pretty color.

IMG_0272.JPG

This was my first time purchasing any of the Soft Matte Lip Creams from NYX. Ulta had all NYX products on sale 40% off a couple weeks ago and I of course had to go stock up! I had been wanting to try these lip creams for awhile, but just couldn’t decide what shade I wanted. Sadly, a lot of the shades were already picked over by the time I was able to go to my local Ulta, but Cannes was one of the ones still in stock, so I I figured I’d give it a try.

IMG_0273.JPG

These lip creams are something you need get used to a little if you’ve never used them before. They’re very smooth, but the texture is definitely thicker and creamier than a lipgloss. They have pretty decent pigmentation and good staying power too as they act a little like a lip stain in some respect. At first, I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this particular color, but after wearing it a few times, it ended up growing on me and I decided to keep it. And now I want to get my hands on a few other shades in this line!

One tip: If you want to wear a matte lip, be sure to exfoliate your lips before applying, as a lot of matte lip products can cling to and accentuate dry patches on your lips. ELF has a lip exfoliator I’ve heard good things about (plus it only costs $3 I think). I’ve been using a lip scrub by Smashbox that they apparently don’t make anymore. My tube is pretty much empty now, so I’ll probably get the ELF one sometime soon to try out (and of course let you guys know what I think of it here).

Ok that should do it for today! As always, thank you so much for reading! You guys are truly awesome. Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Wednesday with another post! 🙂

One thought on “Quick Review & Swatch: NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream in Cannes

Leave a Comment

