First Impressions: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation SPF 15

Happy Friday, gorgeous gals! Ready for the weekend? Got any fun plans? I’ll be attending a haunt event at a local theme park tonight with some friends. I’m excited and also terrified (I’m a big chicken when it comes to stuff like this).

Before I get started with today’s post, I wanted to announce I’m closing in on 450 followers here on The Makeup Case! Once I reach 500 followers I’m going to do a giveaway of some sort, so be sure to tell your friends about the blog. And those of you already following along… thank you so much! You guys are awesome. šŸ™‚

Been awhile since I’ve had a first impressions post for you guys, but I got one today! The product this time is the Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation with SPF 15. I got a sample of this last month at my local Sephora but hadn’t had a chance to finally test it out until last week. A full size tube contains 1.7 oz. of product (which more than most foundations) and costs $38. This foundation also comes in 16 different shades.

Tarte Amazonian Clay

 

Here’s a product description (from the Sephora site):

Get 12 hours of flawless coverage with this long-wearing, skin-perfecting formula with UVA/UVB SPF 15. It’s full coverage with a weightless texture. With a broad range of shades available and a supremely blendable and buildable formula, everyone can achieve skin that looks healthy and natural.

I for some reason was matched with the shade Light Sand, which was honestly too light for me, but once I added some bronzer I was able to make it work for the most part without it making me look like a ghost/zombie. The texture of this foundation is thick and creamy, but once applied it feels somewhat lightweight, which is nice since this is a full coverage foundation. It covered up my “problem areas” pretty well, blended nice and didn’t look cakey, but you could tell I was wearing something on my face. It dries to a not totally matte finish. It claims to provide up to 12 hours of wear and I got around 9-10 hours before I started to notice some shine (mainly on my nose and chin – the main culprits), so that claim is pretty valid. If you have normal skin this foundation could probably give you the full 12 hours stated (and maybe more). If you have dry skin, you might want to be more wary of this foundation since the consistency is on the thicker side and it might accentuate any dry patches you may have.

So did I like this foundation? Yeah I did. I’d go with a bit darker shade if I were to purchase it though. For the amount of product you get, which is at least 25% more than most foundations, which only have 1 fl oz., the price point of $38 is pretty reasonable, all things considered.

Have you tried this Tarte foundation? Tell me about your experience below in the comments. Also, do you have any product suggestions for me to try out next and report back on? Let me know in comments as well!

Ok that should do it for today! As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a fabulous weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation SPF 15

Leave a Comment

