Review: CK One Mascara

Happy Hump Day, lovelies!

Today I’ll be doing a review of the CK One mascara. This brand is apparently an Ulta exclusive. Now, if you’re an Ulta rewards member, during your birthday month, they send you a coupon to redeem for a free full size CK One mascara, which is an $18 value. It’s the same mascara they sell in the store, but the birthday mascara has special packaging (and it only comes in black, whereas the one they sell in the store comes in 5 different colors). My birthday is at the beginning of August, but my local Ulta was out when I went to redeem mine. Well, let me tell you… it took them TWO MONTHS to finally get more in! I finally got mine at the end of September.

 

Happy Birthday To Me... Two Months Late!

Happy Birthday To Me… Two Months Late!

 

So here’s a product description from the Ulta site:

Precision curved brush and patented lycra technology amplifies, shapes, and lifts every lash for maximum volume.
Customize lash looks with a unique twist brush applicator. Select definition or volume with a twist of the cap in this all-in-one mascara.
Delivers buildable full lashes that remain soft and supple stroke-by-stroke.
Ophthalmologist tested. Dermatologist tested. Safe for contact lens wearers.

What’s unique about this mascara is the brush. You can twist the brush by turning the top of the cap. If you want to define, lengthen and lift your lashes, you twist the brush so it’s totally straight. If you’re looking for volume, you twist the brush so it looks like a spiral.

Twist the brush straight out for definition, length and lift.

Twist the brush straight out for definition, length and lift.

Twist the brush so it looks like a spiral for volume.

Twist the brush so it looks like a spiral for volume.

 

This mascara surprised me. It’s not life changing, but I noticed a difference right away when I used it with the brush twisted like a spiral. It made my lashes look a little fuller. It’s pigmented, goes on smooth and in the couple weeks I’ve been using it, it hasn’t clumped or smudged. A couple times I got a little on my face while applying to my lower lashes, but it cleaned up real easy, which was nice. This mascara also dries quickly, which is always a plus for me. The formula isn’t waterproof, but I don’t mind that at all. I usually prefer to apply this mascara to just my upper lashes and use a waterproof mascara (like my “old reliable” Maybelline Great Lash) on my lower lashes when I got time. But when I’m in a rush, this does the job on the lower lashes just fine.

So yeah, I actually liked this mascara more than I was expecting to. I love little surprises like that! Would I spend $18 for another one? I don’t know… maybe. As long as Ulta keeps this as the birthday freebie though, I’ll stick with getting it that way for now.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried the CK One mascara? Did you like it? Tell me about your experience below in the comments.

As always, thank you so much for reading! Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: CK One Mascara

Leave a Comment

