Review: Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer

Happy Friday, gorgeous gals!

Today I’ll be doing a review of the Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer, so grab that pumpkin spice latte and let’s go!

I ended up picking this primer up on a whim recently while at my local Walmart. I had a coupon for $1 any Rimmel face product, and I’m always on the lookout for both high end and “drugstore” level primers to try, so I figured I’d give it a shot. A full-size tube contains the usual 1 fl oz. of product and costs around $6.99.

 

IMG_0177

 

Here’s a product description from the Rimmel website:

Ultra lightweight formula that minimizes the appearance of pores.
Controls shine for up to 8 hours creating a soft, perfectly matte complexion.
Won’t feel heavy or greasy.

This primer comes out white, but that’s no issue as it’s colorless once it’s applied and is absorbed. The texture feels a little more like a moisturizer than most primers, but like the product description says, it’s not greasy feeling. For some, it might feel little heavy at first, but once it absorbs/sets, it’s not an issue. When applying this primer, I give it around a minute or so to absorb/set and once it is, it really does take away the shine and gives you a nice, matte canvas for applying your makeup. I used both my Bare Minerals and MAC Pro Longwear foundations with this primer and they both worked well with it. The packaging says you can also wear it over makeup, but that’s not something I’m brave enough to try, so I’ll stick with the normal underneath makeup use.

 

IMG_0178

 

So does this primer deliver its promise on controlling shine for up to 8 hours? Pretty much. After maybe 6 hours of wear I’ll notice my nose and chin (the oiliest parts of my face) are starting to get a little shiny, but a quick blot with my Clean & Clear oil blotting sheets and a dusting of powder always takes care of that.

The verdict? This primer isn’t too bad for a drugstore level one. I’ve been using it for a few weeks now with consistent results, so I’m happy with it.  Would I repurchase again? Probably. If you’re in the market for an inexpensive primer, you might want to check out the Rimmel London Stay Matte primer. It’s a decent primer for those who have combo/oily skin and prefer a matte look. If you have dry skin or prefer a more natural or dewy finish, this primer probably wouldn’t be for you.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this primer before? Did you like it? Tell me about your experience below in the comments.

As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Rimmel London Stay Matte Primer

Leave a Comment

