Is It A Dupe – Urban Decay Vice 3 Palette

Happy Hump Day!

Ok so I’m going to be doing something a little different for today’s post.

As you know, Urban Decay recently came out with their Vice 3 eyeshadow palette, which features 20 brand new “never before seen” eyeshadow colors.

604214923027_vice3When I was at my local Ulta last week, I played around with this palette a bit and swatched a bunch of of the shadows (about 10 of the 20) on my arm:

 

10 of the shades in the Urban Decay Vice 3 palette. GORGEOUS!

10 of the shades in the Urban Decay Vice 3 palette. GORGEOUS!

 

I was so impressed with how soft and buttery the shadows felt, plus the pigmentation is off the wall. But this palette costs a whopping $60! Ugh! I do have one Urban Decay palette – the Mariposa one that came out in I think 2011. I love that palette. I’m actually starting to hit pan on a couple of the shadows in it. Now I love the colors in the Vice 3 palette, but knew I’d never use most of them. So I got an idea… look for inexpensive dupes for the shades I like best!

Some of these shadows I have similar ones in my Mariposa palette. Freeze (peacock blue) in Vice 3 is very similar to Haight in Mariposa. Vanity (eggplant purple) in Vice 3 is very similar to Rockstar in Mariposa. And Alchemy (fuschia) in Vice 3 is similar to Infamous in Mariposa. So I’m good and covered on those. My absolute 2 favorite shadows in Vice 3 though are Sonic and Bondage.

Sonic is described as a sort of “metallic red-copper” with warm undertone. It’s an absolutely gorgeous color that’s more versatile that you might realize. Believe it or not, I actually found an inexpensive shadow that is nearly identical – Heat from the NYX Cosmetics Hot Singles shadows collection. Heat is described as a “pearly copper” shade. I swatched them out side by side at Ulta and was ecstatic to see how similar they were. I’ve also heard “I Heart You” in the Milani baked shadows is a similar dupe for Sonic.

Heat by MYX Cosmetics on the left. Sonic by Urban Decay on the right (ignore the smudge in the middle, which was Bad Seed by NYX, which ended up being too bright so I rubbed it off). See how similar they are?

Heat by MYX Cosmetics on the left. Sonic by Urban Decay on the right (ignore the smudge in the middle, which was Bad Seed by NYX, which ended up being too bright so I rubbed it off). See how similar they are? Heat is just a little bit darker.

 

The other shadow I fell in love with in the Vice 3 palette is Bondage, which is described as a “deep, smoky burgundy shimmer”. I couldn’t find an exact dupe with just one shade, but layering Fetish (pearly violet) over Own the Night (matte violet-brown), both from the NYX Hot Singles line again, I got something somewhat close. I’ve heard Drama Queen by Makeup Geek is a really close match to the Bondage as well.

Bondage by Urban decay on the far left; Fetish & Own The Night by NYX on the right.

Bondage by Urban decay on the far left; Fetish & Own The Night by NYX on the right. Sorry I didn’t layer them over each other here – it was an afterthought after I had already left Ulta. And sorry for the lighting as it was getting dark out when I took the photo.

 

So there you have it! Inexpensive dupes for even the newest eyeshadow shades can be found… if you know where to look. I also wanted to note that Ulta has all NYX products on sale 40% off this week only (sale ends Saturday, October 4 & it does exclude shadow palettes $14.99 and up). I was able to get the 3 shadows I mentioned (Heat, Fetish & Own The Night) for a whopping $2.69 each as a result (they’re regularly $4.49 each, which is still a great deal as I’d compare most of the NYX Hot Singles shadows to MAC single shadows going by texture and pigmentation alone).

Ok that should do it for today’s post! Do you have a favorite inexpensive eyeshadow dupe of a high end one? Tell me about it below in the comments!

As always, thanks so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Friday with a new post! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Is It A Dupe – Urban Decay Vice 3 Palette

  1. Not even joking no matter how much I try to love my UD pallets (Naked 1,2,3 and Vice 2&3) I hate them. For whatever reason even with primer they fade quickly. I’m more of a Vice color pallet woman so was hoping #3 would be better. Should have learned from the Naked pallets that nope! Money down the sink. Cannot help but wonder if I’m the only person who’s had bad luck with everything made by UD. :/
    Fantastic post though!

    Like

Leave a Comment

