September 2014 Favorites

Happy Monday my lovelies! Can you believe September is over with? This month flew by so fast!

Ok so today’s post is going to be a rundown of my favorites from this past month. Are you ready? Let’s rock & roll!

First up are the Epielle Cleansing Tissues with collagen and vitamin E. I found these at my local Big Lots for $1 for a pack of 30 sheets (they also come in packs of 60 for $2). There are several other varieties (aloe infused, green tea infused, etc.). The package says they’re made in Korea (and Korea is known for making some amazing skin care products, especially BB/CC creams and primers), but distributed by some company in the States. These things are AWESOME. I love them better than the no name ones I was getting at Dollar Tree. They’re much more moist and they work even better at removing my makeup. Whereas I’d need two of the Dollar Tree ones to remove my makeup, I only need one with the Epielle. They’re soft, don’t break me out and my skin feels cool and refreshed after using these. And the price? You can’t beat it!

IMG_0104

 

Up next are some products from Milani. First is the Color Statement Lipliner in Spice. The Milani website describes this shade as “Nude Brown”, but I feel it’s more of a dark pink-brown. Regardless, I love this liner! It goes on so smooth and creamy. I like filling my entire lip area with this pencil and either top it with a matching lipstick, lip gloss or just wear it by itself for a simple matte effect.

Milani Color Statement Lipliner in Spice

Milani Color Statement Lipliner in Spice

Miliani Color Statement Lipliner in Spice swatch

Miliani Color Statement Lipliner in Spice swatch

 

Next is the Milani Color Statement Lipstick in the shade Naturally Chic. This is a gorgeous rosy nude color that’s great for any time and any season. These lipsticks are smooth and creamy and quite pigmented for a drugstore brand. They also don’t dry out my lips as they’re infused with vitamins A and E. Oh and they smell good too!

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Naturally Chic

Milani Color Statement Lipstick in Naturally Chic

Milani Color statement Lipstick in Naturally Chic swatch

Milani Color statement Lipstick in Naturally Chic swatch

 

Last of the Milani products are a couple of the Bella Eyes Gel Powder Eyeshadows in the shades Bella Chiffon (shimmery off-white) and Bella Champagne (shimmery champagne pink). Both of these colors are gorgeous. These shadows are really soft, have minimal fallout, have good pigmentation and blend beautifully. They feel and act more like a higher end product than something from the drugstore. They can be applied wet, dry or just using your finger and so far they haven’t creased on me yet either.

Bella Chiffon ont he left; Bella Champagne on the right

Bella Chiffon ont he left; Bella Champagne on the right

Bella Chiffon on the left; Bella Champagne on the right

Bella Chiffon on the left; Bella Champagne on the right

 

Moving along…. My next favorite is the NYX Cosmetics Baked Shadow in Ambrosia. This is an absolutely GORGEOUS rose gold color that I am obsessed with. I’ve been grabbing this shadow a lot since I got it earlier this month and have received compliments on my eyes almost every time I wear it.

NYX Baked Shadow in Ambrosia

NYX Baked Shadow in Ambrosia

Ambrosia swatch

Ambrosia swatch

 

Next is the ELF blush/bronzer duo in St. Lucia. I picked this up for like $3 at my local Target. The blush in this duo is a good dupe for the popular Orgasm blush by Nars. It’s a little sheer, but you can build the color up to your liking. The bronzer is nice as it’s brown instead more orangey like some bronzers can be. The trick with this particular bronzer though is you need to use a light hand when applying it, otherwise it can look muddy. But when applied and blended out right, it’s a really nice bronzer.

IMG_0107

IMG_0108

 

Next up is the Real Techniques Miracle Complexion Sponge. This is the Real Techniques version of the Beauty Blender. I haven’t used a Beauty Blender, so I can’t compare it to the Real Techniques version, but I will say I do like the Real Techniques version a lot and have heard while it’s not a total dupe for a Beauty Blender, it comes very close. What I like using it for mostly is blending in concealer both under my eyes and when I use it to highlight down the bridge of my nose and my lower forehead between my brows (I use the NYX HD Concealer Wand in the shade Glow). This sponge is soft and easy to grip and you can use it wet or dry.

IMG_0114

 

Next is the “sleeper hit” of the month for me. It’s the Rimmel London Scandaleyes liner in Taupe. Ok, taupe… eyeliner? Yep that’s right. This shade is surprisingly versatile. I like using it on my lower lash line by itself when doing a more minimal/natural/nude eye, or when I’m going for something a little more bold, I’ll smudge some shadow over it as the liner gives the shadow a little something more to cling onto. I like how these pencils (I also have one in black) go on smooth and have pretty decent staying power.

RImmel London Scandaleyes liner in Taupe

RImmel London Scandaleyes liner in Taupe

Rimmel London Scandaleyes liner in Taupe swatch

Rimmel London Scandaleyes liner in Taupe swatch

 

Next is actually an old favorite of mine that I rediscovered this past month. It’s the Sephora brand shadow in the shade De Luxe Punk, which is a slightly shimmery burgundy/wine color. I used to wear this shadow a lot in the past, but it got put away with some other makeup and I forgot I had it until I came across it while reorganizing my makeup collection not too long ago. This is a great color for fall and looks awesome when paired with my Bella Champagne shadow by Milani.

Sephora brand shadow in De Luxe Punk

Sephora brand shadow in De Luxe Punk

De Luxe Punk swatch

De Luxe Punk swatch

 

And my final favorite for the month of September is the Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in the shade Honey. If you remember my August favorites post, I mentioned the shade Adore (a pretty medium red-brown shade). Honey is a really nice mauve-pink shade that would look great on a lot of different skin tones. On me, it’s another “my lips but better” shade, but also just a hint brighter than the usual nude, mauve, and pink-brown shades I seem to gravitate toward. I also love how these provide the moisture of a balm and the lasting color of a stain. And as I mentioned before, these do not feel sticky or tacky at all on your lips. It’s very lightweight with good color payoff. And they have a light minty smell too!

Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in Honey

Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in Honey

Honey swatch

Honey swatch

 

And that does it for my September 2014 favorites! Have you tried any of these products? If you have, which did you like best? What were your some of your September favorites? Tell me all about it below in the comments!

As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you again Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

