Review: Revlon Bold Lacquer by Grow Luscious Mascara

Happy Friday!

Today I’ll be doing a review of the Revlon Bold Lacquer by Grow Luscious mascara. This mascara came out this past spring, but I hadn’t had a chance to give it a try until now. I hadn’t honestly paid much attention to it, but I recently had a coupon where if you bought a Revlon Colorstay eyeliner, you could get the Bold Lacquer mascara for free (it normally costs around $7.99 or so, depending on where you buy it). Who am I to pass up a deal like that?

Ok so this mascara claims to be a lengthening and volumizing mascara. There’s a waterproof version and a non-waterproof version. This review will be for the non-waterproof version, which comes in 3 colors – Black/Brown, Black and Blackest Black. I got it in Black as it was the only color my local CVS had.

 

IMG_0126

 

Here’s a product description (taken from Ulta’s website):

Revlon’s Bold Lacquer by Luscious is a length & volume mascara; the ultimate black, bold definition.

  • The Ultimate Black, Bold Definition.
  • For volume & length to the nth degree.
  • Revlon’s first mascara with only high-shine black fibers vs. traditional mascara (dull shades of grey).

First off, I want to say I love the packaging. The colors on the tube are really pretty and eye-catching (I love blues and purples). When you take the wand out of the tube, you can see the little fibers on the brush (I tried to take a photo to show you, but neither the camera on my phone or my regular camera would focus properly to get a decent photo for some reason). Applying the mascara, it doesn’t clump like you think it might with the fibers sticking out all over the brush. It actually goes on pretty smooth, which was a surprise. I’ve only used this mascara on my upper lashes, but I did notice my lashes looked a little longer and stood out more with just one coat, but nothing super dramatic like the commercials show. It also just looks like your basic black mascara once on. Nothing shiny about it though the product description claims “high shine”. It’s a decently long-wearing mascara though as I’ve gotten an average of 10-12 hours of wear out of it. I also like how it doesn’t make your lashes feel crunchy/crispy like some mascaras can, Touching my lashes while wearing the Bold Lacquer, they felt soft, but you could also feel the mascara on them.

So overall? This isn’t a bad drugstore mascara. It doesn’t totally live up to all it’s claims, but I still like it anyway. I’ve found the more I use it, the more I like it. I’ve heard the waterproof version is actually a little better, so I might give it a try sometime.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried this mascara? Did you like it? Tell me about your experience below in the comments.

As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a fabulous weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Review: Revlon Bold Lacquer by Grow Luscious Mascara

Leave a Comment

