First Impressions: Smashbox Photo Finish Pore Minimizing Primer

Hello my lovelies! Hope you had a great weekend! Grab your coffee/tea/juice or other preferred beverage and let’s get the show on the road!

Today I’ll be giving my first impressions of the new Smashbox Photo Finish Pore Minimizing Primer. I love the original Smashbox Photo Finish primer. It was the first primer I ever used and was so impressed with how well it worked with my Bare Minerals foundation and taught me how important wearing a primer with your foundation is. Smashbox came out with a pore minimizing version not too long ago. I saw it mentioned in a few YouTube beauty vlogger videos and decided I should check it out for myself, so I went to my local Sephora and got a sample of it to try. A full size tube contains the normal 1 oz. of product and costs $39.

The Smashbox Photo Finish Pore Minimizing Primer is an oil-free primer and pore minimizer that claims to last for up to 8 hours. It can be worn alone, under makeup or even over makeup or you can dab on for touch ups. It claims to be non-drying, sweat and humidity resistant, help absorb oil and keep shine at bay, and visibly blur/reduce the appearance of pores.

 

Smashbox Pore Minimizing Primer

 

The color of this foundation is basically “flesh toned”, but once you apply it, you don’t even notice the color as it blends in pretty fast. The consistency is a little thicker and creamier than the original Photo Finish primer. I was a little hesitant at first, but after applying this primer… WOW. My skin felt SO soft and smooth –  like a baby’s butt (LOL!). I couldn’t get over how soft my face felt, and I hadn’t even put on any other makeup yet! I used my MAC Pro Longwear foundation with the primer and these two products worked pretty well together. It did indeed help control the oil/shine around my worst areas (nose and chin) really well, which was impressive. I got to test the humidity resistance as I went out that night to an event that was outdoors and my makeup held up really well with this primer underneath. I just had to do a minor touch-up on the end of my nose. I actually got a handful of compliments on my makeup that night too. As for minimizing pores… well, my pores luckily aren’t too big, so I didn’t see too much difference. But for someone who has larger pores, this looks to be a good primer to try out.

So yeah… I like this primer. It does what it claims to do. But the price of $39 is sadly a big turn off. That costs even more than my foundation! There are so many dupes these days for the original Smashbox Photo Finish Primer (my personal favorite so far is the Sephora brand one) that it’ll probably just be a matter of time before less expensive versions of this one come out. Or they might already be out and I haven’t discovered them yet. Do you know of any good possible dupes for this primer you think I should check out and report back on? Tell me below in the comments!

Ok that should do it for today’s post. As always thank you so much for reading! Enjoy the rest of your day and I’ll see you again Wednesday with another post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

