First Impressions: Bare Minerals Bare Skin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation

TGIF! Are you ready for the weekend? I know I am!

Today I’ll be giving my first impressions on the Bare Skin Pure Brightening Serum foundation by Bare Minerals. Now, as you know (if you’ve been reading my blog regularly), I’ve been using the original Bare Minerals foundation for almost 10 years. It’s one of my “holy grail” foundations. I’ve used the matte and pressed powder formulas as well, but I always go back to the original formula. So when they came out with this new foundation earlier this year and it’s not a powder, my curiosity got the best of me and I had to check it out and got a sample of it at my local Bare Escentuals boutique. A full size bottle contains the standard 1 fl oz. and costs $29. The foundation comes in 20 shades. I was matched with shade 8, Bare Beige (in the original Bare Minerals foundation, I wear the shade Medium or Medium Beige, depending on the time of year).

Ok so the Bare Skin is a “serum” foundation, which is a little different than your normal liquid foundation. Here’s a product description from the Bare Escentuals site:

Clinically proven tone-correcting mineral foundation and brightening serum in one. Created with exceptional purity in mind, this ultra-thin, skin-perfecting fluid provides seamless adjustable coverage, a natural finish and the look and feel of beautiful skin while delivering a noticeably brighter, more youthful appearance. Made with the bare minimum ingredients and formulated without oil, silicone, parabens or fragrance.

This foundation is said to be formulated for all skin types. This made me curious since I have combination skin (oily T-Zone & normal elsewhere for those of you playing at home) and the finish appeared to be on the natural to dewy side.

 

a256043_853

 

So with the Bare Skin foundation, they “recommend” you apply it with their special Perfecting Face Brush, which looks like a flat-top kabuki brush but has a little divot in the middle (which is where you put the foundation before buffing it onto your skin). The brush costs $28 alone. Now I love the Bare Minerals brushes I do have, but I was NOT going to spend $28 for a brush to use with a little sample. I’ve heard some have preferred applying this foundation with a beauty blender, so I used my Real Techniques complexion sponge (their version of a beauty blender). I used it wet, which is the preferred way to use it when applying foundation (you can also use it dry). You first need to shake the bottle up, add a couple drops onto your sponge or brush & then apply. The foundation went on just fine using my sponge and blended out pretty good. Just a couple drops gives you sheer coverage. If you want a medium or full coverage look, just add more drops until you get the desired result. it feels really lightweight on your skin and really doesn’t feel like you have anything on your face. The finish is definitely on the natural to slightly dewy side, which I didn’t honestly care for, but once I set it with some Mineral Veil, it didn’t look too bad.

The staying power was on par with the other Bare Minerals foundations. I got the usual 8-10 hours of wear before I needed any real touch-ups other than my nose. My only real complaint about this foundation is the finish, which I honestly did not care for, even after setting it to get it a little more matte. So I probably would never purchase a full size bottle. But that’s just my personal preference. If you like a natural/slightly dewy finish for your foundation, you might like this one.

Ok that should do it for today! Have you tried the Bare Skin foundation yet? Do you like it? Not like it? Tell me about your experience below in the comments.

As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a great weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post! 🙂

4 thoughts on “First Impressions: Bare Minerals Bare Skin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation

Leave a Comment

