First Impressions: NYX Cosmetics Haul!

Welcome to another Monday!

Got a NYX Cosmetics haul to share with you today, so grab your preferred beverage and let’s get rolling!

Last week I received an order I placed through the NYX Cosmetics website. I had a $5 gift card code they sent me for my birthday along with a code for 25% off my first order… didn’t want those to go to waste!

First up, I got one of the new Simply Irresistible lip creams NYX recently came out with. There are 4 separate collections within the line: Simply Nude, Simply Pink, Simply Red (every time I say or type that, I get a random song by the band Simply Red stuck in my head – yeah showing my age here!) and Simply Vamp. I got the shade Sable from the Simply Nudes collection. Sable is a really pretty brown with pink undertone color. It’s a little darker than my lips, so it’s a good shade for fall. The formula is soft and creamy and is more pigmented than I was expecting, which is nice. You only need to swipe this across your lips no more than a couple times to get a nice color payoff. This lip cream also has a matte finish. My only complaint is that for some reason, the product is smaller than the hole in the crayon, so when it’s turned upside down, it can fall out (mine had done so and hit the inside of the cap). Other than that, I really like this one so far and I plan on picking up a couple more of these in other shades.

Simply Nude lip cream in Sable

Simply Nude lip cream in Sable

Sable

Sable

 

Next, I got 4 of the Hot Singles eye shadows. I love these things! They’re soft, very pigmented, apply well with little fallout and blend like a dream. I got the shades Sin (beige with multi-glitter), Sex Kitten (peachy-pink shimmer), Stiletto (matte peach) and J’Adore (shimmery warm brown). All these shades are gorgeous and can be used for daytime or nighttime looks.

L-R: Sin, Sex Kitten, Stiletto & J'Adore

L-R: Sin, Sex Kitten, Stiletto & J’Adore

L-R: Sin, Sex Kitten, Stiletto & J'Adore

L-R: Sin, Sex Kitten, Stiletto & J’Adore

 

I also got one of the Nude Matte Shadows in the shade Get Naked (and now I’m giggling like I’m 12). This is a beautiful olive-toned brown. A great shade for fall as it’ll look great when matched with green shades and brown shades.

Nude Matte Shadow in Get Naked

Nude Matte Shadow in Get Naked

Get Naked

Get Naked

 

And then I got one of the Baked Shadows in Ambrosia, which is a rose gold color. OMG this is one of the most gorgeous shadows I have ever seen! Rose gold is a popular color trend this fall when it comes to both makeup and accessories, so this is going to be a very fun color to play with.

Baked Shadow in Ambrosia

Baked Shadow in Ambrosia

Ambrosia

Ambrosia

 

Rounding out the eye makeup is one of the Loose Pearl Shadows in the shade Nude, which is a very pretty, shimmery pale gold. This is a great color for highlight not only the brow bone but highlighting cheek bones as well! I was very pleasantly surprised at how pigmented it is. So using just a little will go a long way and make the tiny little jar last a long time. You just need to be very careful when handling these though as since they’re loose pigments, they can get all over the place. Clumsy me managed to spill a little on my living room rug when I first opened the jar. Whoopsie!

Loose Pearl Shadow in Nude

Loose Pearl Shadow in Nude

Nude

Nude

 

Right now, NYX is including a free gift with every order (while supplies last). Included in my order was a Slim Lip Pencil in the shade Nectar, which is a really pretty light copper. This is a nice shade to use on its own by filling in the entire lip area, or you can pair with a similar shade of lipstick or lip gloss.

Slim Lip Pencil in Nectar

Slim Lip Pencil in Nectar

Nectar

Nectar

 

That does it for the items in my order, but I picked up a couple of other NYX items recently as well at my local Ulta and CVS, so I figured I’ll include them with this post too.

First up is one of the Retractable Lip Liners in the shade Natural, which is your standard nude brown. These lip liners go on really smooth and creamy with no tugging at all. I really like them a lot and plan on picking up more in other colors sometime.

Retractable Lip Liner in Natural

Retractable Lip Liner in Natural

Natural

Natural

 

And finally, I picked up another Butter Gloss, this time in the shade Praline, which is a deep nude. As you know I absolutely love the Butter Glosses. They go on so smooth and just melt into your lips like… butter! They’re not real sticky or tacky like a lot of lip glosses can be and they also have pretty good color payoff.

Butter Gloss in Praline

Butter Gloss in Praline

Praline

Praline

 

Ok that should about do it for today! Are you a fan of NYX Cosmetics? What are your favorite NYX products? Tell me about it below in the comments.

As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a great day and I’ll see you Wednesday with another post! 🙂

One thought on “First Impressions: NYX Cosmetics Haul!

Leave a Comment

