Review: Recent Beauty Buys

Happy Wednesday! I hope your week is going well!

For today’s post I’m going to go over some makeup items I’ve bought recently. Let’s get to it, shall we?

First up, I recently picked up a NYX Cosmetics retractable eyeliner in Golden Olive. I already have one of their retractable eyeliners in black, but I decided I wanted to try some of the colored liners to change it up every now and then. This is a really pretty shade. It looks really nice when paired with my Ulta Golden Olive shadow and NYX After Party shadow, but also looks good when I wear brown shadows as well. It’s also a waterproof formula that holds up pretty well.

NYX Cosmetics Retractable Eyeliner in Golden Olive

NYX Cosmetics Retractable Eyeliner in Golden Olive

Golden Olive swatch

 

Up next is a lipstick from the L’Oreal Collection Privee, which is a collection of nude lipsticks inspired by various celebrities. I got number 610, Eva’s Nude, which is inspired by actress Eva Longoria. This is a really pretty nude shade that’s not too light or too dark. It’s right in the middle. It was designed for dark brunettes with golden based complexion, but I feel it’s a shade that would look really nice on light and medium skin tones in general. I like it a lot. The formula is creamy, non-drying on my lips and has a kind of cream/satin finish.

L'Oreal Collection Privee in Eva's Nude

L’Oreal Collection Privee in Eva’s Nude

Eva's Nude swatch

Eva’s Nude swatch

 

Next is  the Wet N Wild Silk Finish lipstick in the shade 502A, Dark Pink Frost. I picked this up on sale at my local Walgreens for a whole 69¢! I figured for the price, if I didn’t like how it looked on me, I was out less than a dollar. This lipstick surprised me. It’s a very pretty medium/dark pink with a pearly finish. It’s really soft and doesn’t dry out my lips. This is a nice shade for a night out.

Wet N Wild Silk Finish lipstick in 502A Dark Pink Frost

Wet N Wild Silk Finish lipstick in 502A Dark Pink Frost

Dark Pink Frost swatch. This is actually a really pretty color!

Dark Pink Frost swatch. This is actually a really pretty color!

 

And next I have yet another lip product! This is the Milani Color Statement lipliner in number 09 Spice. I saw a YouTube vlogger mention this in their August favorites video and I loved how it looked, so I picked one up at my local CVS. The color is very similar to my NYX Slim Lip Pencil in the shade Ever, which is a warm mauve-brown shade, however, the Milani pencil’s formula goes on a lot smoother than the NYX pencil. It’s a great shade to use as a traditional lip liner, but you can also use it to fill in your entire lip area for a pretty matte look (or you can top it off with some gloss for a little shine and moisture). As you can tell by the photo below, I’ve been using this one quite a bit since I bought it.

Milani Color Statement Lipliner in 09 Spice

Milani Color Statement Lipliner in 09 Spice

Miliani Color Statement Lipliner in Spice swatch

Miliani Color Statement Lipliner in Spice swatch

 

And lastly is the NYX Cosmetics Natural eye shadow palette. This palette has 6 shadows that are obviously natural/nude/neutral based. I love neutral eye looks so I couldn’t resist picking up this palette. The shadows themselves are soft, however, when applied dry, they can come off as somewhat chalky, especially the 3 shades on the left. The shades on the right, especially the last two, are more pigmented and not chalky. These shadows actually look better when applied wet, so keep that in mind if you’re thinking about getting this palette. Having said all that, I do like this palette and incorporate at least one of the shades often when doing a neutral eye look.

NYX Natural palette

NYX Natural palette

NYX Natural palette swatches - Dry

NYX Natural palette swatches – Dry

And the shadows when applied wet. As you can see they look more pigmented when applied this way.

And the shadows when applied wet. As you can see they look more pigmented when applied this way.

 

Ok that should do it! I hope you enjoyed this post! As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you Friday with another post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

