Review: Make Up For Ever Mat Velvet+ Matifying Foundation

Hello my beauties! I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

For today’s post, I’ll be doing a review of Make Up For Ever’s Mat Velvet+ Matifying Foundation. I actually used this foundation 5 or 6 years ago, but recently got a sample of it at my local Sephora for a refresher.

Make Up For Ever’s Mat Velvet+ is an oil-free, water-resistant full coverage foundation that’s formulated to even out skin tone, hide imperfections and mattify with an oil-free finish that’s supposed to last for hours. A full-size bottle contains 1.01 fl oz. of product and costs $36. You can buy Make Up For Ever products at Sephora (sadly Ulta does not carry their products).

Mat Velvet+

 

The consistency of this foundation is thick and creamy, which I like. It applies and blends easy for a thick formula and as it states , it covers up any problem areas/imperfections you may have really well.  A little actually goes a long way.  Even though it’s a full coverage foundation, you can actually adjust the coverage you want/need. It dries to a powedry matte finish that’s not too heavy but not totally lightweight either. You can tell you’re wearing something on your face, but it doesn’t look cakey or splotchy.

I remember when I used this foundation in the past that I liked it, but back then I didn’t really have the proper tools to apply it well (just my fingers or a cheap sponge applicator you can by at any drugstore). This time I used my Real Techniques brushes (the stippling brush to be exact) and it went on much better than I remember it doing previously. I got around 8-10 hours of wear out of this foundation before I had to do any touch-ups, so it is a long-lasting foundation as it claims to be.

So overall, I still like this foundation and would probably buy a full-size bottle again sometime in the future. Since it’s an oil-free foundation, it’s good for those with oily skin or combination/oily skin (like me). If you have dry skin, this may not be the foundation for you.

Ok that should do it for today. As always, thank you so much for reading! I’ll see you again Wednesday with another post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

