First Impressions: Cover FX Natural Finish Oil Free Foundation

Welcome to another Wednesday! I have a new “first impressions” post for you today!

I recently got a sample of the Cover FX Natural Finish Oil Free Foundation at my local Sephora to try out. I’d never heard of this brand and it looked interesting so I figured, why not? The foundation comes in an amazing 24 shades. A full sized tube contains the standard 1 oz of product and costs $40.

 

Cover FX

 

Here’s a product description (taken from Sephora’s website):

What it is:
A water-based liquid foundation that provides hydrating, flexible sheer-to-full coverage for the face.

What it does:
This silky smooth foundation provides buildable, sheer-to-full coverage for comfortable all-day wear. Vitamins C and E soothe inflammation and reduce redness while protecting against premature skin aging, and anti-inflammatory and moisturizing properties protect against damaging environmental factors. Available in an array of shades, it was designed to achieve a natural-looking, soft finish in a long-wearing water-resistant formula.

I was matched with the shade N35, which is for medium light skin with neutral undertones. This shade was actually a little too light for me. I think the next shade up, the N40 for medium skin with neutral undertones would be a better match.

The foundation is definitely buildable as stated in the product description. It blends really well. I liked the creamy consistency/texture of the formula. The natural finish was ok but as you know I prefer a more matte finish for my foundations due to my oily T-zone. But if you like a natural finish foundation, this one does the job without looking cakey. It covered all my problem areas (freckles, redness) really well and felt lightweight on my face. Not sure how water-resistant it is as I haven’t had a chance to test that out, but unfortunately the long-wearing claim didn’t hold up for me too well as I noticed the foundation was completely gone from my nose and some areas around my cheeks after maybe 5 hours of wear, so that was disappointing. Maybe it’s because of my combination skin? But the foundation is supposed to be oil free so… I don’t know.

So the Cover FX Natural Finish Oil Free Foundation is an OK foundation. It personally just isn’t for me, but if you’re looking for a foundation that can be as sheer or heavy as you need it to be as well as it having a natural finish, I’d say give this one a fair shake as you might end up liking it.

Alrighty that does it for today’s post. As always thank you so, so much for reading and I’ll see you again Friday with another post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

