Review: W7 Cosmetics

Happy Monday and Happy September! Wow summer went by so fast, didn’t it?

Ok so today I’m going to be doing a review of some products from W7 Cosmetics, which is a makeup company based in the UK. They’ve been around for a few years now but gave themselves a revamp a couple years ago. They’re a drugstore level brand and can mainly be found in the UK, Ireland, mainland Europe and Australia for the most part. The best way to find them in the US is through Amazon.

I’d like to note that these products were sent to me from W7 for my consideration to try out and review, but this blog post is not sponsored. So with that out of the way… let’s get going!

First up is the eye shadow quad they sent me which is called the Silky Smooth Quad Eye Shadow in Shades of Mauves. I love the packaging for this quad. The gold makes it look more luxurious and expensive. The shadows themselves are very pretty. They’re very smooth feeling (not chalky) and also quite pigmented, which was a pleasant surprise. The shadows have a little bit of glitter in them but not so much that it’s overdone. I didn’t experience any fallout with the shadows when applying them dry (using my Real Techniques shadow brushes), which was another nice surprise. The colors looked really nice when applied and blended well. I haven’t seen any creasing, but I also use my concealer as an eye primer and used my NYX jumbo eye pencil in Milk as a base for the shadows for an extra pop of color.

Pretty packaging!

Pretty packaging!

The bottom left shade looks kind of blue in the photo, but it's actually a dark purple.

The bottom left shade looks kind of blue in the photo, but it’s actually a dark purple.

Shades of Mauves shadow swatches. Really lovely colors!

Shades of Mauves shadow swatches. Really lovely colors!

 

Next is the Chunky Lips lip crayons. I was sent the shades Scandal and Sumptuous. These are really pretty Barbie/bubblegum pink shades. I usually prefer more pink-brown or mauve shades in lip color, but this is fun to play with when I want a different look. Scandal is just a little bit darker than Sumptuous, but when these two shades are worn together, it’s a really nice result. The color lasted much longer than I was expecting for such light shades. I got maybe 3 or 4 hours wear before I noticed it was starting to fade.

Scandal on top; Sumptuous on the bottom

Scandal on top; Sumptuous on the bottom

Scandal on top; Sumptuous on the bottom. As you can see, Scandal is just slightly darker.

Scandal on top; Sumptuous on the bottom. As you can see, Scandal is just slightly darker.

 

I was also sent two mascaras. First up is the Zoom mascara in black, which claims to give 7x more lash volume. I like this mascara. I don’t know about the 7X more volume, but my lashes did stand out nicely when wearing it. There was a little bit of clumping, but that was easily fixable with my little lash comb thing.

The Zoom mascara wand. Sorry it's kind of blurry. My camera didn't want to focus correctly.

The Zoom mascara wand. Sorry it’s kind of blurry. My camera didn’t want to focus correctly.

 

The other mascara I was sent is the Showing Out, which is also in black. The brush on this one reminded me of Benefit’s They’re Real mascara, as it has a rounded end to use on your lower lashes. This mascara was ok but it clumped more than I was hoping it would, which was a little disappointing. If it wasn’t for that, this would be a pretty decent mascara.

Showing Out wand. You can see how it's similar to benefit's They're Real. Again sorry for the blurriness.

Showing Out wand. You can see how it’s similar to benefit’s They’re Real. Again sorry for the blurriness.

 

I was also sent an angled eye shadow brush, which I like. It’s great for contouring in the eye area or for applying shadow under your eyebrow as a highlight or when you want to apply shadow along your lower lash line in place of eyeliner.

???????????????????????????????

 

So overall, I was impressed with what W7 has to offer. It’s too bad they’re not available in the US via normal means (Walgreens/CVS, Target, Ulta), but if you’re in the States and want to give them a try, as I mentioned earlier you can find their products on Amazon.

Ok that should do it for today’s post. As always, thank you so much for reading! I’ll see you Wednesday with a new post! 🙂

Leave a Comment

