First Impressions: Urban Decay Naked Skin Foundation

Happy Friday my beautiful friends! Yay! *Happy Dance*

Got another “first impressions” for you today, so grab that extra large coffee (or your preferred beverage of choice) and let’s get rolling!

I love how at Sephora they’ll give you a free 2-3 day sample of just about anything in the store (I think you can get up to 3 samples per visit). A couple weeks ago I stopped in and got a little sample of the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation. I picked shade 5.0 to try, which is a medium with slight golden undertones. The foundation costs $39 for a full size bottle (30 mL/1.0 fl oz) and it comes in 18 shades.

 

Urban Decay Naked Skin

 

Here’s a product description (from Sephora’s website):

What it is:
A weightless and virtually invisible liquid foundation that creates a luminous, demi-matte finish.

What it does:
This formula helps skin achieve a natural, illuminated and bright finish— like the beautiful skin you were born with. Naked Skin is formulated with light-diffusing spheres, transforming you to look professionally retouched. Buildable coverage allows women to customize their look. Available in a meticulously calibrated range of shades, Urban Decay’s precise shade numbering system does poetic justice to both warm tones (ending in “.0”) and cool skin tones (ending in “.5”). The finish is matte, never flat, and luminous, but not shiny.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
– Parabens
– Sulfates
– Synthetic Fragrances
– Phthalates
– GMOs
– Triclosan

Ok so this foundation is VERY liquidy. You need to be very careful as it can otherwise run all over the place after you pump some out on the back of your hand. The shade I picked was a pretty close match, but I probably should have gone with the 5.5, as I have more pink/neutral undertones. The foundation goes on easy and blends pretty good (I applied using my Real Techniques stippling brush). It’s very lightweight, but coverage is buildable and it does dry to a semi-matte finish as stated in the product description. It doesn’t feel like you’re wearing anything on your face at all really, which is nice. It also has decent staying power as it lasted me around 8 or 9 hours before I noticed I needed any touch-up other than my usual nose & chin. Also want to note I set the foundation with my NYX Cosmetics HD Studio Finishing Powder (which I love). So this foundation works well with combination skin that’s an oily T-zone and normal everywhere else, which was a nice surprise.

Overall, the Urban Decay Naked Skin foundation impressed me more than I was expecting. However, the very liquidy and potentially messy formula was a bit of a turnoff. The only other turnoff is the price, which is a bit more expensive than both my Bare Minerals and MAC Pro Longwear foundation (which are my 2 very favorite foundations right now). But I recommend giving this one a try as it seems to be good for most skin types and with 18 shades there should be a match (or something very close) for just about anyone.

And that does it for today! As always thanks so much for reading! Have a great weekend and I’ll see you again Monday with a new post!

Leave a Comment

