August 2014 Favorites

Bonus post from me today!

Going to give a rundown of my favorites for the month of August! Are you ready? Let’s go!

First up is the MAC Pro Longwear foundation. If you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know I got a little sample of this in July on the recommendation of a friend (Hi Julie!). I ended up loving it so much I broke down and bought myself a full-size bottle with some of my birthday money. I’ve had such awful luck with liquid foundations over the years (which is why I switched to Bare Minerals almost 10 years ago and it’s been one of my Holy Grail items ever since), but this MAC Pro Longwear… WOW. It doesn’t settle into my fine lines, it doesn’t get cakey or splotchy, and this stuff lasts a long time! I routinely get at least 10 to 12 hours of wear out of it. I love the mainly matte finish of this foundation and so far it has not broken me out (which some MAC foundations have been infamous for across the board). Love, love, LOVE IT!

Seriously... I love this!

Seriously… I love this!

 

Next are a couple NYX Cosmetics Hot Singles Eye Shadows  – After Party, which is a deep olive pearl shade and Showgirl, which is a peachy copper shade. These are gorgeous. What I love about the Hot Singles shadows is they’re very pigmented so you get great color payoff regardless if you apply them dry or wet. Both of these colors are fun to play with and you can use them in both daytime and nighttime looks.

After Party on the left; Showgirl on the right

After Party on the left; Showgirl on the right

After Party swatch on top; Showgirl swatch on bottom

After Party swatch on top; Showgirl swatch on bottom

 

I actually have another NYX item in my favorites…. their Baked Shadow in Vortex. This is a beautiful deep reddish brown shade. The NYX baked shadows are nice as you can apply them dry for just a light wash of color for a daytime look or wet if you want a more bold look.

NYX Baked Shadow in Vortex

NYX Baked Shadow in Vortex

Vortex swatch (sorry for the bad lighting - I'm not left handed)

Vortex swatch (sorry for the bad lighting – I’m not left handed)

 

Got  a couple lip products I discovered this month that I fell in love with. First is the Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain. This stuff is awesome. It works like a balm to keep your lips moisturized but gives you the long-lasting color payoff of a stain. I got the shade Adore, which is a really pretty warm brownish-red shade. It’s not too dark and not too bright. Really the perfect red that would compliment just about any skin tone. I love how it comes in a lip crayon, which is something I’d never tried before. Also, these balm stains smell good with just a hint of minty scent. They go on really smooth with a kind of satiny finish and aren’t tacky or sticky at all. It’s very lightweight and doesn’t feel like you got anything on your lips. I plan on getting a couple more of these in other colors.

revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in the shade Adore

Revlon Colorburst Balm Stain in the shade Adore

Adore swatch - Such a great red shade!

Adore swatch – Such a great red shade!

 

The other lip product is kind of similar to the Revlon, but it’s the L’Oreal Glossy Balm. These are pretty new as they just came out earlier this summer. I picked one up in the shade Lovely Mocha, which despite the name, is a really pretty nude/natural shade. Kind of a “my lips but better” color. It’s another lip crayon that goes on smooth and moisturizes like a balm. Like the Revlon, I want to try some other colors in this line.

L'oreal Glossy Balm in Lovely Mocha

L’oreal Glossy Balm in Lovely Mocha

Lovely Mocha swatch - Really more of a pretty nude/natural shade

Lovely Mocha swatch – Really more of a pretty nude/natural shade

 

Up next I have a couple of dry shampoos. I am so late to the dry shampoo party. Why didn’t I start using this stuff sooner? First up is the Pssst! Instant Dry Shampoo. This one has been around for a long time (my cousin mentioned she used it back in the 80s). I like this one a lot. It absorbs the oil around my hairline and my roots really well and also gives some nice texture and volume, which is something my baby-fine hair always needs. the other dry shampoo is the Dove Hair Therapy Refresh + Care Invigorating Dry Shampoo. It smells really nice and though it can leave a little white residue on your hair when you spray it, once you brush it through your hair, it’s no issue at all. This also absorbs the oil around my hairline and roots pretty well. I don’t get as much texture or volume as the Pssst! gives, but I still like it quite well.

???????????????????????????????          ???????????????????????????????

 

Ok next isn’t a makeup of hair product, but it’s a favorite of mine from this month that I wanted to share. It’s the Figment comic books from the new Disney Kingdoms series that Marvel started producing this year. Now, as I mentioned in my How-to: Disney Bounding post, I am a HUGE Disney fan. When I first visited EPCOT Center back in 1987 (as it was called back then), I was instantly enamored with the Journey Into Imagination attraction. I just thought it was the coolest ride and to this day it’s still my favorite attraction ever at Walt Disney World.

figment-issue-1-comic-390x600              STK652681

I was so bummed when they closed it, took out the Dreamfinder character and changed the whole thing to the Imagination Institute. But these comic books give the backstory of the Dreamfinder and Figment – how they meet and how the Dreamfinder becomes the Dreamfinder. These comics are beautiful, fun and engaging. It’s only a 5 or 6 comic series (the first 3 issues are out now and the next issue comes out in early September). They’ve proved to be a very popular series as the first and second printings of issues have sold out fast! If you’re a comic fan who is also a Disney fan, check these out. You won’t regret it.

Alright… back to makeup! My next August favorite is the Real Techniques Makeup Brushes. I just did a full review of them earlier this week (you can check that out here if you missed it), so I won’t rehash these again so soon other than I LOVE these brushes! I love how soft they are, how they work with all sorts of makeup… I just love them.

Real Techniques

 

And now my final favorite for August 2014… the L’Oreal Infallible Eye Shadow. I picked these up in Amber Rush (after seeing it used in several YouTube tutorials) and Bronzed Taupe. These are both gorgeous colors! You can play them up or down. They go on best when you use your finger to press it onto your eyelids, but it’s also a super blendable, creamy formula. I love these. I plan on picking up more colors in this line. I actually paired the Amber Rush with the Showgirl from NYX recently and got a LOT of compliments. Those 2 shades look pretty awesome together.

Infallible

Amber Rush on the top; Bronzed Taupe on the bottom - Such gorgeous colors!

Amber Rush on the top; Bronzed Taupe on the bottom – Such gorgeous colors!

 

Ok so that does it for my August 2014 favorites! As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a wonderful weekend!

2 thoughts on “August 2014 Favorites

Leave a Comment

