Review: Real Techniques Makeup Brushes

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend!

Today I’ll be doing a review of the Real Techniques makeup brushes. I’ve mentioned these before in my Top 20 Under $20 post, but today I’ll be going into more detail about these brushes and what they do.

First, a little background info: Real Techniques was founded by Sam and Nic Chapman, who are makeup artists from the UK. They developed their own line of makeup brushes in I think 2011.

The brush bristles are made of taklon, so they’re synthetic (and 100% cruelty-free), but they are super soft. The handles are made of lightweight aluminum and are also color-coded to you know which ones to use on which part of your face, but I’ve found that many of the brushes are can be used for multiple purposes.

The Real Techniques brushes I have in my collection are:

The Core Collection – This set comes with 4 brushes: A contour brush, buffing brush, pointed foundation brush and a detail brush. I use the buffing brush to apply my powder to set my foundation and blending in highlighter and blush (it can also be used to apply mineral foundation) and the contour brush for bronzer. The foundation brush is kind of small, but it’s good for blending in concealer since the pointed tip helps you get into smaller areas. The detail brush is small but good for putting concealer on blemishes or even using as a lip brush. The set also comes with a case which is great for travel.

 

The Core Collection L-R: Buffing Brush, Contour Brush, Pointed Foundation Brush & Detail brush

The Core Collection L-R: Buffing Brush, Contour Brush, Pointed Foundation Brush & Detail brush

 

Starter Set – This set comes with 5 brushes: a base shadow brush, deluxe crease brush, accent brush, fine liner brush and a brow brush. The fine liner brush can be used for either gel eyeliner or even as a lip brush. The brow brush can also be used as an angled liner brush and the accent brush can also be used to smudge along your lower lash line. This set comes with a travel case like the Core Collection. My favorites of this set are the base shadow and deluxe crease brushes. They both pick up a lot of shadow and blend it in really well. So far I use the accent brush to highlight just under my eyebrows and in the corners of my eyes. I like how small it is so you can use it in those small, tight spaces.

 

The Starter Set L-R: Brow Brush, Base Shadow brush, Deluxe Crease Brush, Fine Liner Brush & Accent Brush

The Starter Set L-R: Brow Brush, Base Shadow brush, Deluxe Crease Brush, Fine Liner Brush & Accent Brush

 

Expert Face Brush – This brush is great for applying liquid or cream foundation. It applies product evenly without streaking and gives you a flawless finish. I like this brush really well.

 

Expert Face Brush

Expert Face Brush

 

 

Stippling Brush – This brush is also great for applying liquid foundation when you want a more full coverage look. You just tap the brush on your face (which is called “stippling”) to apply product, then you can swirl the brush to blend and buff it out. This is my favorite brush for applying whatever liquid foundation I’m using at the time (currently my MAC Pro Longwear).

 

Stippling Brush

Stippling Brush

 

There are several other brushes available from Real Techniques and I hope to eventually add these to my collection. I’ve been very pleased with how my makeup looks when I use these brushes. I’ve even had people tell me my face has looked flawless, which was a HUGE compliment. I’ve been really impressed with these brushes so far. They’re easy to use, many are multi-purpose, they don’t shed and they wash real easy too. You can buy the Real Techniques brushes at may places, such as Ulta, Kohl’s, Walmart, Walgreens or even the Real Techniques website. In the UK you can find them at Boots and I believe you can order them on iHerb as well. I ordered my brushes off Amazon as they had them cheaper than the stores I just mentioned. I’ve also heard that if you have a Christmas Tree Shop near you, many have a beauty section and have these brushes for super-cheap (sadly the closest one to me is at least a 2 hour drive one way).

Ok that’s all for today’s post! As always, thank you so much for reading! Have a good one and I’ll see you Wednesday with another post!

Leave a Comment

