Review: Cover Girl TruBlend Foundation

Happy Friday my gorgeous gals!

Got yet another foundation review for you today, but this time we’re going with a drugstore brand.

So… the Cover Girl Tru Blend foundation. This is basically Cover Girl’s response to L’Oreal’s True Match foundation. The L’Oreal was my “go-to” foundation for a long time before I started using Bare Minerals. Basically this foundation comes in a bunch of shades, 21 to be exact, so there’s bound to be a match out there for just about any skin tone. It costs around $8.50 to $9 depending on where you purchase it.

 

TruBlend M6 Perfect Beige

 

I was actually sent the Cover Girl TruBlend to try out and was sent the shade M6, which is called Perfect Beige. This shade was actually a little too dark for me. If I had more of a tan, it probably would’ve been a perfect match. So that was a little disappointing. I think a shade or 2 lighter would have looked much better on me. The foundation did go on real easy and blended really nice, which impressed me because when it comes to drugstore brands, I seem to have the worst luck with Cover Girl products.

Anyhow… Once I got the foundation on, blended and set with powder, it looked pretty good despite the slightly too dark shade. It dried to a basically natural finish, which looked ok, but I personally prefer a more matte finish for my foundation. But I just sucked it up and went about my day. When I checked my makeup just a few hours later though, I noticed it was already starting to fade/melt off. It was completely gone from the tip of my nose and it was starting to look splotchy around my cheeks from fading. That was very disappointing. I did a touch up, re-powdered, and continued with my day. Checked it again after a few hours and – yep – it was again melting off my face. I guess this foundation just isn’t good for people with oily skin. As I’ve mentioned many times before, my T-zone can be an oil slick, but the rest of my face is pretty much normal. And yes I used primer under the foundation like I always do.

So overall – I didn’t really care for the Cover Girl TruBlend foundation. If it had better staying power, I might have liked it better. But, if you have normal or dry skin and you’re looking for an inexpensive drugstore brand to try, I say give the TruBlend a shot. You might get better wear out of it than I did. 🙂

Ok so that’s all for today! As always thank you so much for reading! Have a wonderful weekend and I’ll see you all again Monday with a new post!

One thought on “Review: Cover Girl TruBlend Foundation

Leave a Comment

