First Impressions: Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Oil-Free Foundation

Happy Friday everyone!

Today is yet another “first impressions” post – so grab that muffin and your beverage of choice and let’s get rolling!

Oh first, just a reminder that now I’m on Instagram, so if you’re on there, feel free to give me a follow: My Instagram

So another foundation sample I got recently at Sephora was the Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Oil-Free foundation. This foundation is, as its name says, oil-free and claims to be long-wearing, contains anti-aging properties, helps keep skin hydrated and doesn’t settle into fine lines.

 

Marc Jacobs

 

I was matched with the shade 34 Beige Medium, which was a pretty good match. It’s a gel foundation, which makes it a little “thicker and creamier” than most liquid foundations, which I liked. It goes on and blends in pretty well. Coverage is buildable and you can build up from natural to full coverage. It’s infused with with the Marc Jacobs Soft Focus Powder and dries to a mostly matte finish, which again I like. The foundation looked pretty natural on my skin and even my boyfriend mentioned it looked really nice on me. The long-wearing claim is valid as it lasted on me for around 10-12 hours before I noticed it was starting to fade off a little. As usual I had to do the minor touchup on my oilslick nose and chin, but that was it.

I just have one real complaint about this foundation. It claims it won’t settle into fine lines, but for me… it did. It settled into the lines around my eyes, which was disappointing (even after setting with powder). Other than that, this foundation really impressed me.

Just one more “con” – It costs $48. Yikes! That is definitely on the expensive side for foundation. On that factor alone, I would not be purchasing a full-size bottle. But if you’re willing to splurge, this foundation is worth giving a try. Just watch out for it possibly settling into any fine lines you may have.

And there you have it! As always, thank you so much for reading!

Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

One thought on “First Impressions: Marc Jacobs Genius Gel Super-Charged Oil-Free Foundation

Leave a Comment

