First Impressions: Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

Another weekend gone…. meaning it’s Monday and time for a new blog post!

But first… an announcement. I’m now on Instagram! You can follow my handle there: themakeupcase17. There aren’t many posts there now but that will change soon enough. 🙂

Ok with that out of the way, let’s get to today’s post!

I’m doing another “first impressions” and today’s product is Kat Von D’s Lock-It Tattoo Foundation.

As you may or may not know, tattoo artist and model Kat Von D (from the reality shows LA Ink, Miami Ink and others) started her own makeup line  back in 2008 or 2009. When I was color matched at my local Sephora recently, I got a sample of her Lock-It Tattoo Foundation to try out. The Lock-It Tattoo Foundation is a highly pigmented foundation (contains 21% pigment) and provides full coverage. It claims it provides 24 hour wear, is transfer-resistant and can cover up pretty much any skin imperfection, including tattoos. The foundation comes in 19 different shades and costs $34. I believe the Kat Von D line is a Sephora exclusive.

 

Lock-It

 

This foundation is very creamy and on the heavier side since it’s full coverage. You also have to work kind of quickly when applying it so it blends well and evenly. I was a little apprehensive at first, but once it started blending, it looked much better. It dries to a matte finish and the foundation is formulated to control oil while keeping your skin hydrated. I was matched with the shade Medium 52, which is a Medium/light complexion with warm beige undertone, which was was honestly a little too light for me and also made me look slightly yellowish for some reason. But once I added a little bronzer, it helped make me not look so washed out. I liked the matte finish and the staying power was pretty impressive as I had to do just one minor touch-up to my chin in the evening. It didn’t look cakey (but it does look like you’re wearing something on your face), but it did settle into some of the fine lines around my eyes a bit, which is a problem I have often when it comes to liquid foundations.

I don’t hate this foundation, but I also don’t love it. I’m going to get another sample but in a shade that matches me better (I’m thinking the Medium 56 or Medium 58 might be a better fit) and give it another try. I might like it more if I use a shade that looks better on me. But if you’re looking for a full coverage foundation with staying power, you might want to give this one a try sometime.

And that’s all for today! As always, thank you so much for reading! I’ll see you Wednesday with another post!

Leave a Comment

