Review: Make Up For Ever’s Smoky Extravagant Mascara

Hi everyone! Hope you had a fantabulous weekend!

Today I’m going to do a review of a new mascara I’ve been using, Smoky Extravagant by Make Up For Ever. This mascara comes in both regular and waterproof versions. For this review I’ll be focusing on the non-waterproof version.

 

smoky extravagant

 

I got a travel size version of this mascara at Sephora. It’s part of this year’s birthday present for Beauty Insider members and comes paired with a travel size version of their Rouge Artist Natural lipstick in N9 (Copper Pink). I’ll be reviewing the lipstick in an future blog post. If you’re not a Sephora Beauty Insider member, I highly recommend joining. It’s free and you earn points on every purchase (online, in Sephora stores and also the Sephora in JC Penny locations), which are redeemable for deluxe/travel size versions of various products (the products change every month or so for variety). You also get a birthday present every year and every year it’s something different (last year was travel size versions of Benefit’s Watt’s Up highlighter and They’re Real mascara).

According to the Make Up For Ever site, the Smoky Extravagant mascara is suppose to give volume, length, curl and precision for lashes in 4D (companies seem really love this “4D” stuff lately). It’s also claims to be clump free and long-wearing.

I’ve worn this mascara almost every day for the last week and I don’t know about the length part, but my lashes do seem to have a bit more volume when I have it on and they seem to have curled a little as well, which is nice because I’ll admit I’m terrified of eyelash curlers. I always end up blinking/flinching and ripping out several eyelashes as a result. It’s just a scary contraption for me. The long-wearing claim is pretty valid as this mascara has lasted me all day/night with no touch-up needed. I also haven’t see any real clumping when applying it either.

The Smoky Extravagant mascara only comes in one color (black) and costs $24. A bit pricey for me and even though I do like this mascara, I don’t think I’ll splurge for a full-size tube (unless I have a gift card to use).

 

And there you have it! That’s so much for reading and I’ll be back Wednesday with another post!

Leave a Comment

