First Impressions: Prestige Cosmetics “Primed & Ready” Primer & MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

Happy Friday my gorgeous gals! And Happy August as well! Hard to believe summer is starting to wind down already!

It’s time for another “first impressions”! Today I’ll be covering not one but two products I’ve tried recently. Got your coffee or other preferred beverage ready? Let’s get started!

 

First up is Prestige Cosmetics “Primed & Ready” primer. I picked this up recently at Ulta as I was looking for a new primer to try and in my research, saw this one had a lot of good reviews. I had never heard of Prestige Cosmetics before, but was willing to give it a shot. According to the product description, the Primed & Ready primer is infused with Vitamins A, E and C as well as bioflavonoids to provide anti-oxidant benefits and is designed to minimize the appearance of pores and fine lines. You can wear alone or underneath foundation.

 

Prestige Primer

 

I like this primer! It goes on really smooth and it helps control shine on the oily parts of my face, which is a huge plus. It also has a slight pleasant smell. My foundation grabs onto it well and the primer helps it last for a long time. It costs $11.49, which puts it on the more affordable side as far as primers go. I’ll most likely be getting another bottle of this when I need more primer.

 

The second product I’ve recently tried is MAC Cosmetics Pro Longwear foundation. I got a small sample (2 to 3 days worth) at the MAC counter of my local Dillard’s (department store) after a friend recommended I give it a try. I was matched with the shade  NW25, which is a kind of medium/beige shade.  This foundation comes in 2 different forms – a liquid in a bottle and a creamy compact. The one I tried was the liquid. According to MAC’s website, the Pro Longwear foundation gives up to 15 hours of wear “in any environmental condition” and is supposed to help control oil, which would make it suitable for my combination skin.

 

Mac Pro Longwear

 

When I opened the little sample jar the girl at the MAC counter put together for me, I was overwhelmed for a second by the kind of strong, funky smell of the foundation. But I had not used liquid foundation in several years, so I just shrugged it off as I wasn’t used to the smell of liquid foundation anymore. I dabbed some on my face and blended it in using my Bare Minerals Precision Face Brush (which is is an angled foundation brush – it has really soft bristles and I love it). The foundation blended on my face well and at first the coverage felt a little too light for my liking. That was easily solved though as I just dabbed on a little bit more on the areas I wanted to cover most and tapped the brush over to blend it in. I have to say overall the coverage is pretty decent and definitely buildable to go from medium to full coverage. It dries to a powder finish that’s not totally matte, so it looks more natural. I set the foundation using a dusting of my translucent shade of Mineral Veil from Bare Minerals (What can I say? I love my Mineral Veil!), which gave it the perfect finish for me. I wore it out in the hot/humid Florida sun running errands and it didn’t melt off like some liquid foundations have done in the past. I only had to do a couple of light touchups on the mineral veil throughout the day to control my usual oil/shine issues around my oil slick of a nose and chin.

Overall, I was pretty impressed with this foundation on the first try. It doesn’t look cakey, splotchy or settle into fine lines, which is a big problem I usually have with liquid foundation. The price is what’s holding me back as it costs $31. That’s a little more expensive than my usual Bare Minerals (which is $27). But if I were to go back to a liquid foundation, the MAC Pro Longwear is one I would definitely consider.

 

And that’s all for today’s “first impressions”! Thanks so much for reading! Have a wonderful weekend, everyone!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: Prestige Cosmetics “Primed & Ready” Primer & MAC Pro Longwear Foundation

    • I’m glad to have helped! Of all the foundations I’ve recently tried out, the MAC was the one that I liked the most. I’m seriously considering maybe getting a bottle myself (or at least another 2-3 day sample at the MAC store).

      Like

Leave a Comment

