First Impressions: Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque

Hello my beauties! Hope you week is going fabulously!

Today is another “first impressions” post. This time I’ll be sharing my views of the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque.

I had never done any kind of mask treatment before but always wanted to. So I decided to up my skincare regime lately and finally get one to try. I did some research on Ulta’s website and initially wanted to get the Freeman Feeling Beautiful Mint & Lemon mask as it’s formulated for combination to oily skin. Unfortunately, my local Ulta was out of stock when I visited. But they did have the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque, which was my 2nd choice, so I grabbed that as it was the same price as the Freeman ($3.99).

 

IMG_0331

 

The Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque has been around for a long time. It was developed by a dermatologist to help dry up pimples, wash out blackheads and shrink enlarged pores. So it’s great for oily or combination skin (the latter is what I have). It’s a clay mask, so you wash it off with warm water and a washcloth instead of peeling it off once it dries.

The product is green and it smells like spearmint! It smelled so good I almost wanted to eat it (but I didn’t). It goes on not too thick but you can add a little more if you wish. It felt a little tingly at first, but the sensation went away after a few minutes. As it dried, I could feel my skin getting a little tighter. It dries within 15 minutes, which is about average for clay masks from the research I’ve done. Once dried, it rinsed off real easy with a washcloth and warm water. I got a little on my eyebrows as I was applying it but it didn’t stick and rinsed off easy as well.

 

AHHH! Scary monster!

AHHH! Scary monster!

 

The result? My skin felt SO soft! It also felt really clean and my pores did look just a little smaller. So, yeah I was really impressed with this mask. I’ll be using this once a week for a little extra deep cleaning. For the price, it really can’t be beat. If you’re in the market for an inexpensive mask treatment, give the Queen Helene Mint Julep a try.

Do you have a favorite mask treatment? Tell me about it below in the comments!

That’s all for today! Hope you enjoyed reading!

Leave a Comment

