First Impressions: Ulta Minerals Foundation

Hi everyone! I hope you had a good weekend!

For today’s post, I’ll be giving my first impressions of Ulta’s mineral foundation.

 

IMG_0323

I have to admit I like the coppery/gold packaging!

 

I love mineral makeup. I’ve been using Bare Minerals for almost 10 years and it’s the best foundation I have ever used as I have combination skin and liquid foundation really just doesn’t cut it for me anymore. My only complaint is it’s kind of expensive. I’ve tried some other brands of mineral makeup that are less expensive to see if I could find something comparable that could work as a backup or even in place of Bare Minerals. One brand I’ve tried is L’Oreal’s True Match mineral foundation and it was ok, but on my skin it looked splotchy no matter how much I tried to blend it.

So recently I was at Ulta and saw they had their brand of mineral foundation on sale for $5 (it’s regularly $14) and figured for that price, I’d give it a try. I picked up their Medium 03 shade, which is the exact same color as Bare Minerals’ Medium shade, which is what I currently wear (I did a swatch test in the store to be sure and it was identical). FYI: the Ulta mineral foundation comes in 10 different shades (compared to Bare Minerals 20 shades).

 

IMG_0320

Bare Minerals on the left, Ulta Minerals on the right. The Ulta package is a little smaller than Bare Minerals, but you actually get the exact same amount of product as Bare Minerals – 0.28oz/8g.

 

I’ve only used the Ulta Minerals a few days, so here are my first impressions.

I had to use a little more than normal to get the same coverage I get with Bare Minerals. I’ve applied it so far using my Bare Minerals kabuki and Hand Buki brushes and it goes on smooth (I applied my Sephora primer to my face first). Coverage is buildable – like I said I had to use a little more than I normally do with my Bare Minerals to get the same result. It hasn’t settled into any fine lines or looked cakey or chalky like some less expensive brands of mineral foundation can do. It also doesn’t look splotchy – coverage is even. That’s a big plus in my book. It feels lightweight on my face, like I’m not wearing anything at all.

 

IMG_0321

A look inside the containers – Bare Minerals on the left and Ulta Minerals on the right. They look pretty similar! I wish Ulta had the “click & lock” thing Bare Minerals has though as it prevents less mess.

 

 

Bare Minerals Medium swatch on top; Ulta Minerals Medium 03 swatch on the bottom. As you can see, they're practically identical.

Bare Minerals Medium swatch on top; Ulta Minerals Medium 03 swatch on the bottom. As you can see, they’re practically identical.

 

It also doesn’t have a funky kind of metallic smell like some drugstore mineral makeups have. It really doesn’t have any kind of smell at all. I set the Ulta makeup with my Bare Minerals Mineral Veil and it helps keep my makeup in place all day. I only have to do a couple minor touchups around my chin and nose later in the day, but I have to do the same when wearing Bare Minerals, so that was nothing new (my nose and chin are the oiliest parts of my face).

So… overall, I like the Ulta Minerals. It’s not something I’d personally want to use every day in place of my Bare Minerals, but it looks like it will be a great backup for days I’m running low on my usual and can’t get out to Ulta or Sephora to get more. Even at $14 it’s a good price for mineral makeup, though it would be best to wait until Ulta has it on sale to get some (even their By One, Get One Free would work out to just $7 each – a bargain).

And there you have it! I hope you enjoyed reading! I’ll be back Wednesday with another post! Stay beautiful, everyone!

One thought on “First Impressions: Ulta Minerals Foundation

  1. Thank you very much for this information on mineral makeup. I want to start wearing more natural makeup that is less harsh on my skin, so I’ve been looking into different alternatives. This information that you have provided was very helpful. I’ll be sure to remember it.

    Like

Leave a Comment

