First Impressions: Benefit’s They’re Real! Push-Up Liner & Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Flashes Mascara

Happy Friday everyone!

Last weekend, I went to my local Sephora as they were having an event with Benefit to showcase their new They’re Real! Push-Up Liner. I’ve tried Benefit’s They’re Real! mascara and like it, so I wanted to give this new liner a try.

 

Benefit They're Real Liner

Benefit’s They’re Real! Push Up Liner is a gel liner with and angled applicator tip to help hug lashlines better and make eyes appear more open as a result. It’s waterproof/long wearing, which is a big plus in my book. I tried this on my upper lashline and it went on pretty easy with minimal tugging. You turn a little knob at the base of the wand to get the product to the applicator tip.The girl at Sephora told me the trick with this liner is to turn the knob so it only clicks a couple times, otherwise you’ll get too much product in the applicator, which will make a mess. The liner looked pretty good on my upper lashline and lasted all day. Only downside I could see is it got a little flaky toward the inner corners of my eyes, but that was minimal. Also at the end of the day it was difficult to take off. I can normally get my usual kohl/crayon waterproof liners off with a makeup wipe, but I had to break out the “big guns” (my eye makeup remover) to get this off (and it took more than one cotton ball with eye makeup remover on it to get it all off). It’s a bit on the spendy side at $24, but overall a decent liner from my initial impression of it. But… I’ll stick with my usual eyeliners for the time being, though I’m willing to give this one another chance sometime.

 

Tarte Lights Cameras Flashes

The other product I tried at Sephora was Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Flashes Statement Mascara. Now I admit I’m not a huge mascara fan, but lately I’ve been using it more as my lashes look a little to bare sometimes. Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Flashes claims to curl, lengthen and increase lash volume up to 752%. It’s not waterproof, which is a minus for me as I prefer waterproof whenever possible. The mascara did seem to curl my lashes a bit more than normal (you can see the in the above photo, the applicator brush is curved slightly) and made them look a little fuller. However, I did notice a little bit of clumping, but nothing too major. It was super difficult and very messy to take off though, which I really didn’t like. This mascara costs $23, which is again on the spendy side. Overall, I don’t think I’d be purchasing this one anytime soon.

And those are my first impressions with these two products. I hope you enjoyed reading and hope my initial thoughts of these items help you the next time you’re looking for a new eyeliner or mascara to try!

Have a wonderful weekend everyone!

One thought on “First Impressions: Benefit’s They’re Real! Push-Up Liner & Tarte’s Lights, Camera, Flashes Mascara

Leave a Comment

