First Impressions: My Mini NYX Haul

Happy Friday everyone! Sorry I’ve been away all this week but I’ve been dealing with some personal stuff.

Anyhow, for today’s post, I’m going to give my first impressions on some NYX Cosmetics items I picked up earlier this week at Ulta. If you didn’t know, Ulta had the NYX line on sale this past week for 40% off. The perfect time to stock up on old favorites or try something new that you’ve had your eye on.

 


193_1_
The first item I’m going to talk about is the Wonder Pencil. I got this in Medium (it also comes in Light and Deep). It can be used to spot conceal blemishes, use a reverse lip liner to prevent bleeding/feathering of your lipstick or on your eye’s waterline as a brightener. It goes on smooth and creamy and blends well. I used it to cover up the remnants of a zit that’s been taking forever to go away and it covered it up perfectly. Pretty impressive.

 

shira mademoiselle
Next up, I got 2 of the Baked Shadows. I got Mademoiselle, which is a plum shade and Shira, which is a rosy brown shade. These shadows are gorgeous! They’re lightweight, shimmery and you can build up the color intensity to your preference. They can be applied dry or wet. I have dark brown eyes and both of these colors looks awesome on my lids. I’m actually wearing Shira as I write this post! I definitely plan on getting more of these in other colors.

 

foreplay
As well as the baked shadows, I also got a Baked Blush to try. I got the shade Foreplay, which is a pink with gold shimmer. This is a very pretty blush. It looks bright in the package, but it goes on light and and looks natural. These blushes can also be applied wet using a makeup sponge or beauty blender for more intensity if desired.

 

eyeliner
I’m a big fan of NYX’s Slide On eyeliner. As I’ve mentioned in other posts, I’ve found it to work just as well as Urban Decay’s 24/7 and Make Up For Ever’s Aqua Eyes pencils. I picked up a NYX Retractable Eyeliner to give a try as it’s also waterproof. So far It’s held up and hasn’t smudged, so this could be another staple in my eyeliner collection.

butter gloss
I’ve mentioned before how much I love NYX’s Butter Gloss and I’m going to say it again. I LOVE NYX BUTTER GLOSS! I picked up a new tube in Angel Food Cake, which is a mauve shade. These glosses go on super smooth, the color payoff is perfect for a gloss (not too intense or too pale) and isn’t overly sticky like some glosses can be. You can wear them alone or with your favorite lipstick for some extra shine.

 

LOL
The last item I got in my mini-haul is one of the Hot Singles eyeshaows in LOL, which is a matte deep orange. This will be a fun color to play with when I want a more dramatic or playful look. These shadows have a decent amount of pigment, so the color payoff is nice if you apply it dry or wet.

And there you have it! I hope you enjoyed my first impressions of these products! Have a great weekend everyone!

2 thoughts on “First Impressions: My Mini NYX Haul

    • The sale was just this past week. But Ulta now has NYX on sale this week(starting today, July 6) buy one, get one 50% off, which is still a good deal.

      Like

Leave a Comment

