Review: ISO Professional 5 in 1 Curling Wand

Hi everyone! Today I’m going to be doing a review of the ISO Professional 5 in 1 curling wand.

I’d been using my normal curling iron as a makeshift curling wand (wrapping my hair around the barrel instead of using the clip), but I just wasn’t totally liking the result, as I’d get little bumps in my hair from wrapping it around the clip part. So I decided to invest in a nice, mid-range curling wand. I originally had my eye on the Cortex 4 in 1 (which had a lot of positive reviews), but when I went to buy it on Amazon, the price jumped up, which was disappointing. So after some more research, I decided to give the ISO Professional 5 in 1 a try.

IMG_9982

The ISO Professional 5 in 1 curling wand has 5 interchangeable ceramic tourmaline barrels. The barrel sizes are: 32mm (1.25 in), 25mm (1 in), 19mm (3/4 in), 25-18mm tapered (1 in  to 3/4 in),  and 18-9mm tapered (3/4 in to 1/4 in). It heats up from 122 to 410 degrees Fahrenheit (50 to 210 degrees Celsius) and the base has an LED display so you can manually set what temperature you want. It also comes with a handy-dandy heat-resistant glove so you don’t burn your fingers or hand since this iron gets very hot (I was always burning the tips of my fingers using my normal curling iron). It also comes in 2 colors: Pink and Black. I got the black. As you can see, it comes in a nice, sturdy box, which you can use as storage for the base and rods when not in use. I wish it came with a storage bag for travel, but that’s a minor complaint.

IMG_9979

IMG_9980

The barrels attach to the base relatively easy once you figure it all out. There are 4 prongs on each barrel that plug into the base and 2 buttons on either side of the base you hold in while attaching/detaching, and if the barrel isn’t on correctly/all the way, the LED display on the base will show an error message, which disappears once the barrel is on correctly. It takes a couple minutes for the barrel to heat up, but you can use that time to spray some heat protector on your hair.

IMG_9981

I tried using the 1 inch barrel on my clip-in hair extensions and it worked great. The curls were nice and bouncy and they also lasted much longer than when I used my regular curling iron. The bigger 1.25 inch barrel will be nice for looser waves and the smaller barrels good for tighter curls. I did try using the 3/4 inch barrel on my own hair without my extensions in, but I didn’t quite get the hang of it just yet. That’s probably because my own hair is just slightly past my shoulders and in a bazillion layers, but I’ll keep trying until I get it right.

Rock star curls!

Rock star curls!

 

Having a little fun with some accessories.

Having a little fun with some accessories.

 

The curls definitely last longer then I was expecting. The above two photos were taken before I headed out for an afternoon of running errands. After a few hours out in the heat and humidity that is Central Florida, I came home and found the curls to be pretty much intact for the most part. By the end of the day, thee curls were more soft waves, but still pretty!

 

After running errands for 3 hours in the hot & humid Florida sun.

After running errands for 3 hours in the hot & humid Florida sun.

 

Now, the price. If you go on the ISO website, you’ll find this 5 in 1 curling wand listed for $250! Yikes! But I got mine brand new on Amazon for $55 plus free shipping. It pays to dig around until you find the best deal.

The verdict: I like it a lot! Changing out the barrels is a little tricky at first, but it gets easier once you get the hang of it. I definitely recommend trying this curling wand as it’s a great deal if you get it on Amazon (or Ebay).

Leave a Comment

