Lipsticks and Lip Glosses – My Favorites

Hope everyone is enjoying the long Memorial Day weekend (for those who have the day off today at least).

For today’s post, I’m going to talk about some of my favorite lipsticks and lip glosses.

Now, for years, I hated wearing anything on my lips because I didn’t like the way it felt. I’d wear a little Chapstick and that would be it. My have the times changed! Now I’m always looking for new lip products to try out.

Here are some of my favorites…

 

NYX Cosmetics Extra Creamy Round Case Lipstick

This is probably my favorite lipstick right now. It goes on really smooth, it’s mineral-based so it doesn’t dry my lips out, it doesn’t smudge and lasts a fair amount of time before it fades. I currently have this in two shades (it comes in – get this – 108 different shades!): B52, which is a soft mauve-pink and Minimalism, which is a little big lighter mauve-pink. I like to play up my eye makeup and keep my lips more neutral, but still a little pop of color. The price for this lipstick is unbeatable – only $4.00! I highly recommend getting your NYX products from Ulta as they’re usually on sale, buy one, get one 50% off.

 

NYX Cosmetics Matte Lipstick

I decided to give the NYX Matte Lipstick a try when I was out my my normal Round Case lipstick and found it’s a nice alternative to have when you want something different. It does dry my lips out a tiny bit, but not as bad as some other lipsticks have done in the past. It goes on pretty smooth as well. I have this lipstick in the shade called Euro Trash, which is a dark pink-brown. It normally costs around $6.00, which is a little more than the Round Case but still very affordable.

 

Revlon Colorburst Lip Gloss

This lip gloss is very creamy, smooth and moisturizing. It’s also very light feeling on your lips but a nice pop of color that’s very shiny. The shade I have is called Sunbaked (which is what’s pictured above). It costs around $7.50 and you can get it at most drugstores, Target, Ulta, etc. My tip is to keep an eye out for coupons in the Sunday paper that will give you a dollar or 2 off.

 

Maybelline Color Sensational Lip Gloss

I found this lipgloss at my local Big Lots for $2.00 and I figured for that price, it was worth trying out. I got it in the shade called Sugared Honey. It goes on smooth, is non-drying on my lips, gives a nice color… and it smells incredible! If you have a Big Lots by you, don’t knock it. You can find some good stuff at really good prices there sometimes.

 

Buxom Full On Lip Polish

I got a free deluxe sample of this at my local Sephora in the shade Dolly, which is a dusty mauve (and also one of their best selling shades). It’s one of those lip-plumping glosses. I wasn’t sure how I’d like it as I had never tried lip venom glosses before. I ended up liking it really well! It feels like peppermint on your lips when you’re wearing it, but the smell of the gloss in the tube actually smells like cookies! I haven’t noticed much of a plumping effect myself, but I like the color. It’s shiny and it’s also not sticky/tacky like some glosses can be. I keep this in my purse for on the go. This gloss is on the spendy side though ($19.00).

 

So those are some of my favorite lipsticks and glosses. Do you have a favorite not on the list you think I should try? Let me know below in the comments!

Leave a Comment

