My Favorite Styling Products

Hi everyone! For today’s blog post, I’m going to tell you about some of my favorite hair styling products.

I have real baby fine hair. My hair is also damaged from coloring it for over 20 years (and before that, my mom making me get a perm at least once a year when I was a kid- hey it was the 80s!). I’ve experienced just about every hair problem out there – frizz, fly-aways, split ends, limpness/lack of volume, dryness… you name it. Over the years though, I’ve learned how to take better care of my hair using various products.

So let’s get to the nitty-gritty, shall we? Today is just going to be about styling products and treatments. I’ll cover shampoos and conditioners in another post in the near future.

 

Ion Color Defense Leave In Treatment

You can get this at your local Sally Beauty Supply (or on their website if you don’t have a store near you). It costs $6.99 (if you have a Sally Card you get a bit of a discount), so it’s on the affordable side. This is a leave-in conditioner for color treated hair. Last year, I changed my hair color from black to reddish brown. As you probably already  know, the only way to get rid of black hair is to bleach it out. I bought a home bleaching kit at Sally Beauty and it did the job, but my hair was fried as a result. I started using the Ion leave-in conditioner after every time I washed my hair and it’s really helped. My hair is still a bit fried, but definitely not as bad as it was a year ago. You just spray it on towel-dried hair, concentrating on the ends and comb it through. Simple as that! An added bonus is it helps keep your color locked in so it doesn’t fade as fast.

 

Garnier Fructis Moroccan Oil

I was given a bottle of this by my mom as she bought some and liked it a lot and figured I would too. She was right. If you have fine hair, you need to use this sparingly as it can weigh your hair down. I use about a dime-sized amount, usually mixed with some styling cream. Moroccan oil gives your hair extra nourishment (especially if you have dry hair) as well as extra shine. I also use this twice a month on my clip-in hair extensions as a nourishment treatment.

 

Tresemme Heat Tamer Spray & Keratin Smooth Flat Iron Spray

Both of of these sprays work real well. The Heat Tamer spray is good for all your general hot tools styling needs (flat iron, curling iron, blow dryer, etc.). The Keratin Smooth is more for when you use your flat iron as it helps your hair stay sleek and smooth as it’s infused with a Keratin type treatment.

 

Redken Real Control Crema Care Styling Cream

This was the first styling cream I ever used and I like it a lot. Since I have fine hair, I only need to use a little bit or else it’ll weigh my hair down too much. You can use it on damp hair as well as a little on dry to smooth everything out. As it’s a salon brand, it’s a little on the spendy side, so if you want to give this a try, keep an eye out for when Redken products are on sale at your local salon or at Ulta. It’s a big bottle/tube and if you use a little, it can last you a long time.

 

Fekkai Glossing Cream

This is another product that was given to me by my mom. It’s again on the spendy side (around $25 or so for a small bottle/tube), but it works well and isn’t as heavy as some styling creams can be. I like using this more after my hair is dry to smooth out any fly-aways/frizz.

 

L’Oreal EverStyle Alcohol-Free Smooth & Shine Creme

everstyle

This is probably my favorite of the various styling creams I’ve used over the years. It’s alcohol-free, do it doesn’t dry out our hair. It also feels more lightweight than other styling creams I’ve used. My hair feels extra soft when I use it. It’s also real affordable as it normally costs around $5.99, but there’s almost always coupons out there for a dollar or two off, which makes this a great deal.

 

Redken Guts Number 10 Spray Foam

redken guts

I don’t use mousse very often anymore as I prefer styling creams these days, but this one is my all-time favorite. It comes in an aerosol can and you spray it onto your hair versus dispensing into your hand then applying to your hair. You can spot-apply where you need it the most and it comes out as a fine mist you you don’t need to use a lot.

 

Perfect Purity Hair Spray

I recently discovered this brand at my local Dollar Tree. I figured for a whole dollar, I’d give it a try and if I didn’t like it, I’d only be out $1. Well, to my surprise, I like it! It smells nice and it holds well too. Where I live, it gets really humid (especially now that summer is approaching), so finding something that will help hold my hairstyle in humid conditions is pretty much a must. And so far Perfect Purity has been getting the job done. I plan on going back to Dollar Tree soon to stock up on a couple more bottles.

 

Tresemme Tres Two Hair Spray

This is my usual go-to for hair spray. It’s not sticky, lightweight with a touchable hold… and it usually holds a style well in humidity. Not much else I can say about this hair spray that probably has already been said in every other review out there.

 

So there you have it! Do you use any of these products or have a favorite styling product that’s not on the list that you think I should check out? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Comment

