Bare Minerals: The Pros and Cons

Image

For my first review, I want to talk about Bare Minerals. You’ve all seen the infomercials I’m sure, as well as seeing it at your local Sephora or Ulta.

I’ve been using Bare Minerals for almost 10 years now and I have to say it is the best foundation I have ever used… and I’ve tried so many different brands of foundation over the years (both drugstore and high end). I have an oily T-zone (seriously the thing is like an oil slick) which sometimes causes my makeup to melt off over the course of the day. Bare Minerals though? It stays put and I only have to do a minor touch-up in the early evening for the most part.

Bare Minerals comes in 4 different kinds of foundation now: The Original & Matte loose powder, a pressed powder and now a serum. Each type comes in 20 shades for all skin tones. You just tap out what you need and buff it onto your face using one of their brushes. I personally love their Handy Buki Brush. You then set it with their Mineral Veil (which comes in 6 different shades to match with the foundation).


I personally prefer the Original loose powder as it gives a more natural finish. I’ve tried the Matte formula and it’s ok but not my own personal preference. The pressed powder is nice, but it’s very sheer and you have to go up one or two shades from your normal one. The serum gives a natural finish but I haven’t really given this one a try yet.

The Mineral Veil comes in your choice of loose or pressed powder. I prefer the pressed powder as it’s less messy and you can put the compact in your purse for touchups while on the go.

Ok so I titled this article the pros and cons so let’s get to that.

THE PROS

It covers up pretty much any skin condition you may have. Freckles/dark spots? Rosacea? Redness? Broken capillaries? It covers all of those really well.

It doesn’t cake or settle into fine lines (at least not for me).

Coverage can be buildable. Wear as much or as little as you need. It’s lightweight and doesn’t feel like you’re wearing a mask, which is the case with some foundations.

It contains SPF 15, which protects your skin from stuff like skin cancer.


THE CONS

The loose powders can be messy. My bathroom is regularly covered in residue. The pressed powder can be a little messy as well but not as bad.

It’s expensive. The Original and Matte loose powders cost $27. The pressed powder and serum cost $29. But each container can last 2 to 3 months depending on how much you use. For the result you get, the price overall is worth it. The brushes are equally expensive, but they’re really good brushes that I’ve used with other brands of makeup. They hold up really well.


TIP
: Sometimes Sephora and Ulta offer free deluxe samples of Bare Minerals with a minimum purchase (or sometimes without to rewards program members – which you can join for free). Keep an eye on flyers they send in the mail as well as emails (sign up for special offers). Also, Sephora will give you a free sample (2-3 days worth) of just about any product in the store, so don’t be afraid to ask. The worst they can do is say no.

if you’re willing to take the plunge, they also offer “starer” kits that include 2 shades of foundation (so you can figure out which is right for you), mineral veil and a brush or two. Both Ulta and Sephora also have a pretty generous return policy. If you buy something and don’t like it after you try it, you can return it no questions asked as long as you return it within I believe 30 days (just remember to keep your receipt).

BOTTOM LINE: If you’ve seen the infomercials and seen it in stores but haven’t tried it, give it a shot sometime. It may surprise you.

One thought on “Bare Minerals: The Pros and Cons

Leave a Comment

